Simon Berthon biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Simon Berthon

Simon Berthon

How to pronounce Simon Berthon: birth-on

Simon Berthon Biography

Simon Berthon, described by the Daily Telegraph as a “formidable Second World War historian”, is one of Britain’s most distinguished writers and producers of television history. His previous book was ALLIES AT WAR (pub. Harper Collins) on the bitter sweet relationship between Churchill, Roosevelt and de Gaulle. He also made the 3 x 1 hour television series for BBC-2. Allies at War was variously described as: ‘brilliant .. if you enjoyed this series, there’s a handsome book by Simon Berthon to accompany it’ (Time Out); ‘one of the best history programmes I’ve seen in ages’ (Daily Telegraph); ‘compelling and thoroughly refreshing’ (Independent); ‘full of astonishing revelations and insights which made your mind boggle’ (Guardian).

Simon joined the BBC’s elite journalist trainee scheme in 1973 and, at the age of 27, became editor of BBC Northern Ireland’s controversial investigative current affairs programme ‘Spotlight’. In 1980 he moved to ITV’s investigative series “World in Action” where he won a Gold Hugo at the Chicago Film Festival. In 1990 Simon made his first major historical series, ‘The Shape of the World’, which won a Gold Medal at the New York Film and Television Festival. He co-wrote the accompanying book.

In 1996 he became a founding partner of 3BM Television, of which he is now chariman, and has presided over a stream of high quality historical and investigative documentaries ranging from ‘Cannibal’, ‘A World in Arms’ and ‘The Age of Terror’ (winner of the Broadcast multi-channel award) to ‘World War One in Colour’ and ‘Ten Days to D-Day’.



This bio was last updated on 12/26/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Simon Berthon at BookBrowse
Warlords jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Simon Berthon but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss has been called "the nation's leading Presidential historian" by Newsweek. He has written eight books on American Presidents and is NBC News Presidential Historian, as well as contributor to PBS's The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    The Conquerors
    by Michael Beschloss

  • Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson has been a journalist for most of his life.

    He wrote for his middle school newspaper and his high school newspaper, and then studied journalism at Boston University, where he worked on The News, a radical ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    K Blows Top
    by Peter Carlson

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.