We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Simon Berthon biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Simon Berthon

Simon Berthon

How to pronounce Simon Berthon: birth-on

Simon Berthon Biography

Simon Berthon, described by the Daily Telegraph as a “formidable Second World War historian”, is one of Britain’s most distinguished writers and producers of television history. His previous book was ALLIES AT WAR (pub. Harper Collins) on the bitter sweet relationship between Churchill, Roosevelt and de Gaulle. He also made the 3 x 1 hour television series for BBC-2. Allies at War was variously described as: ‘brilliant .. if you enjoyed this series, there’s a handsome book by Simon Berthon to accompany it’ (Time Out); ‘one of the best history programmes I’ve seen in ages’ (Daily Telegraph); ‘compelling and thoroughly refreshing’ (Independent); ‘full of astonishing revelations and insights which made your mind boggle’ (Guardian).

Simon joined the BBC’s elite journalist trainee scheme in 1973 and, at the age of 27, became editor of BBC Northern Ireland’s controversial investigative current affairs programme ‘Spotlight’. In 1980 he moved to ITV’s investigative series “World in Action” where he won a Gold Hugo at the Chicago Film Festival. In 1990 Simon made his first major historical series, ‘The Shape of the World’, which won a Gold Medal at the New York Film and Television Festival. He co-wrote the accompanying book.

In 1996 he became a founding partner of 3BM Television, of which he is now chariman, and has presided over a stream of high quality historical and investigative documentaries ranging from ‘Cannibal’, ‘A World in Arms’ and ‘The Age of Terror’ (winner of the Broadcast multi-channel award) to ‘World War One in Colour’ and ‘Ten Days to D-Day’.



This bio was last updated on 12/26/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Simon Berthon at BookBrowse
Warlords jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Simon Berthon but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss

    Michael Beschloss has been called "the nation's leading Presidential historian" by Newsweek. He has written eight books on American Presidents and is NBC News Presidential Historian, as well as contributor to PBS's The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    The Conquerors
    by Michael Beschloss

  • Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson

    Peter Carlson has been a journalist for most of his life.

    He wrote for his middle school newspaper and his high school newspaper, and then studied journalism at Boston University, where he worked on The News, a radical ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Warlords

    Try:
    K Blows Top
    by Peter Carlson

We recommend 12 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.