Tim Flannery biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Tim Flannery

Tim Flannery

How to pronounce Tim Flannery: FLAN-er-ree

Tim Flannery Biography

Dr. Flannery has made contributions of international significance to the fields of palaeontology, mammalogy and conservation and to the understanding of science in the broader community. His work, which includes a number of major discoveries, has received international acclaim from both peers and professionals.

His book, The Future Eaters (1994), concerns the evolution of Australasian environments and is the first of its kind. It is a remarkable synthesis of the determinants of life in the southern lands that comprise Australasia. The Times Literary Supplement praised the work's insight and fresh approach to issues of international concern. The book quickly became a best seller in Australia and it has been released in the United States, United Kingdom and New Zealand. It is currently used as a major university textbook in the Environmental Sciences.

Dr. Flannery seeks to link the nature of the Australian environment with social and economic problems, and by popularising science provides access to issues of fundamental importance to all Australians.His expertise is sought by national environmental committees and educational bodies. He is a Member of the National Environmental Education Council and a member and voice of many other projects and organizations. Dr. Flannery spent a year as Professor of Australian Studies at Harvard University, where he drew international attention to Australia and its unique biodiversity, character and history.

He has also promoted international conservation issues within Papua New Guinea and the surrounding lands, making major inroads into understanding their biodiversity whilst making groundbreaking discoveries (e.g., the tree kangaroos of Irian Jaya). His research clarifies and draws attention to the status of endangered species and publicises past extinctions to prevent future ones. Without Dr. Flannery's conservation work it is likely that species such as Bulmer's Fruit Bat would already be extinct.

He publishes prolifically, having written over 90 refereed papers and several books, including The Weather Makers, Here on Earth, and Now or Never. He is a recipient of the Award for Outstanding Individual Achievement for his deep commitment to secure a future for the Australian environment.

Tim Flannery's website

This bio was last updated on 03/20/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tim Flannery at BookBrowse
Here on Earth jacket Now or Never jacket The Weather Makers jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Tim Flannery but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dr John Brandenburg

    Dr John Brandenburg

    Dr. John Brandenburg is a physicist, rocket scientist, and Mars expert. He is one of the pioneers in Mars anomaly research and, since 1994, has been the principal investigator on the Microwave Electro-Thermal (MET) rocket ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Weather Makers

    Try:
    Dead Mars, Dying Earth
    by Dr John Brandenburg

  • Susan Casey

    Susan Casey

    Susan Casey is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Devil's Teeth: A True Story of Obsession and Survival Among America's Great White Sharks. She served as creative director of Outside Magazine, where she was part ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Weather Makers

    Try:
    The Wave
    by Susan Casey

We recommend 12 similar authors

View all 12 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Love and Other Consolation Prizes
    by Jamie Ford
    Love and Other Consolation Prizes was read and reviewed by 22 BookBrowse members for First ...
  • Book Jacket: The Judge Hunter
    The Judge Hunter
    by Christopher Buckley
    In London 1664, Balthasar de St. Michel or "Balty" has no discernable skills besides pestering his ...
  • Book Jacket: Star of the North
    Star of the North
    by D.B. John
    It's summertime. You're looking for an absorbing thriller while you flop at the beach. ...
  • Book Jacket: The Abbot's Tale
    The Abbot's Tale
    by Conn Iggulden
    The Abbot's Tale purports to be a re-discovered manuscript written by a real historical figure,...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Music of the Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner

A love story for things lost and restored, a lyrical hymn to the power of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Summer Wives
    by Beatriz Williams

    An electrifying postwar fable of love, class, power and redemption set on an island off the New England coast.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win A Place for Us

A Place For Us

A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H, W H A Problem

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.