Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Tim Flannery biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Tim Flannery

Tim Flannery

How to pronounce Tim Flannery: FLAN-er-ree

Tim Flannery Biography

Dr. Flannery has made contributions of international significance to the fields of palaeontology, mammalogy and conservation and to the understanding of science in the broader community. His work, which includes a number of major discoveries, has received international acclaim from both peers and professionals.

His book, The Future Eaters (1994), concerns the evolution of Australasian environments and is the first of its kind. It is a remarkable synthesis of the determinants of life in the southern lands that comprise Australasia. The Times Literary Supplement praised the work's insight and fresh approach to issues of international concern. The book quickly became a best seller in Australia and it has been released in the United States, United Kingdom and New Zealand. It is currently used as a major university textbook in the Environmental Sciences.

Dr. Flannery seeks to link the nature of the Australian environment with social and economic problems, and by popularising science provides access to issues of fundamental importance to all Australians.His expertise is sought by national environmental committees and educational bodies. He is a Member of the National Environmental Education Council and a member and voice of many other projects and organizations. Dr. Flannery spent a year as Professor of Australian Studies at Harvard University, where he drew international attention to Australia and its unique biodiversity, character and history.

He has also promoted international conservation issues within Papua New Guinea and the surrounding lands, making major inroads into understanding their biodiversity whilst making groundbreaking discoveries (e.g., the tree kangaroos of Irian Jaya). His research clarifies and draws attention to the status of endangered species and publicises past extinctions to prevent future ones. Without Dr. Flannery's conservation work it is likely that species such as Bulmer's Fruit Bat would already be extinct.

He publishes prolifically, having written over 90 refereed papers and several books, including The Weather Makers, Here on Earth, and Now or Never. He is a recipient of the Award for Outstanding Individual Achievement for his deep commitment to secure a future for the Australian environment.

Tim Flannery's website

This bio was last updated on 03/20/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Tim Flannery at BookBrowse
Here on Earth jacket Now or Never jacket The Weather Makers jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Tim Flannery but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Dr John Brandenburg

    Dr John Brandenburg

    Dr. John Brandenburg is a physicist, rocket scientist, and Mars expert. He is one of the pioneers in Mars anomaly research and, since 1994, has been the principal investigator on the Microwave Electro-Thermal (MET) rocket ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Weather Makers

    Try:
    Dead Mars, Dying Earth
    by Dr John Brandenburg

  • Susan Casey

    Susan Casey

    Susan Casey is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Devil's Teeth: A True Story of Obsession and Survival Among America's Great White Sharks. She served as creative director of Outside Magazine, where she was part ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Weather Makers

    Try:
    The Wave
    by Susan Casey

We recommend 12 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.