MLA Gold Award Site

Dr John Brandenburg biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr John Brandenburg

Dr John Brandenburg

Dr John Brandenburg Biography

Dr. John Brandenburg is a physicist, rocket scientist, and Mars expert. He is one of the pioneers in Mars anomaly research and, since 1994, has been the principal investigator on the Microwave Electro-Thermal (MET) rocket thruster project for Research Support Instruments (RSI) in collaboration with the Center for Space Power at Texas A&M. He was a member of the NASA Technical Advisory Committee of Technology and Commercialization and served on its former Space Transportation Subcommittee. Dr. Brandenburg is also the author of numerous publications and reports.



This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

From Oracle, May 2000 Issue – Interview with Monica Rix Paxson:
Reproduced with the permission of the publisher.



Life on Mars? Life on Earth? -- by Marie-Claire Wilson.

Earth, the third planet from the Sun, is situated between Venus, the second planet, and Mars, the fourth planet. Mars is the most important planet with respect to ours. We may not realize how fragile the planets are. Mars is showing effects of human pollution in space, and that in turn will have repercussions on Earth.

Has it been scientifically proven that life once existed on Mars?

The media has recently widely reported that it’s been demonstrated that life exists on Mars. The Moon mission that brought back some Moon rocks for our scientists to examine proved that these rocks have the same composition as Earth rocks. Meteorites are identified by their special composition, and they lend strong evidence that there is life on Mars. Recently, in addition to Dead Mars, Dying Earth, we became partners in the scientific discovery called oxygen inventory depletion, or OID, in which the Earth’s oxygen levels were discovered to be dropping. I realized that we’re running a serious risk that if the planet Mars died, it would mean a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr John Brandenburg at BookBrowse
Dead Mars, Dying Earth jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr John Brandenburg but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jared Diamond

    Jared Diamond

    Jared Diamond is a professor of geography at the University of California, Los Angeles. He began his scientific career in physiology and expanded into evolutionary biology and biogeography. He has been elected to the National... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dead Mars, Dying Earth

    Try:
    Collapse
    by Jared Diamond

  • Tim Flannery

    Tim Flannery

    Dr. Flannery has made contributions of international significance to the fields of palaeontology, mammalogy and conservation and to the understanding of science in the broader community. His work, which includes a number of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dead Mars, Dying Earth

    Try:
    The Weather Makers
    by Tim Flannery

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Victoria
by Daisy Goodwin

"A hit…The research is impeccable, the attention to detail, perfect." - The Sunday Mirror (UK)

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk
    by Kathleen Rooney

    "Effervescent with verve, wit, and heart" - Booklist, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win No Man's Land

No Man's Land
by Simon Tolkien

Inspired by the experiences of his grandfather, J. R. R. Tolkien, during World War I.

Enter

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A List of Cages
    A List of Cages
    by Robin Roe
    Robin Roe has written one helluva young adult debut novel. Alternating first person narratives by a ...
  • Book Jacket: Homesick for Another World
    Homesick for Another World
    by Ottessa Moshfegh
    The frizzy, freaky, funky, and frazzled all pile on in this much anticipated short story collection ...
  • Book Jacket: Conclave
    Conclave
    by Robert Harris
    Although best known for his fact-based historical thrillers, in Conclave, best-selling author Robert...

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H W S W T Devil S H A L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.