Dr John Brandenburg biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr John Brandenburg

Dr John Brandenburg

Dr John Brandenburg Biography

Dr. John Brandenburg is a physicist, rocket scientist, and Mars expert. He is one of the pioneers in Mars anomaly research and, since 1994, has been the principal investigator on the Microwave Electro-Thermal (MET) rocket thruster project for Research Support Instruments (RSI) in collaboration with the Center for Space Power at Texas A&M. He was a member of the NASA Technical Advisory Committee of Technology and Commercialization and served on its former Space Transportation Subcommittee. Dr. Brandenburg is also the author of numerous publications and reports.



This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Dr. John Brandenburg answers the question, “Has it been scientifically proven that life once existed on Mars?”, describes the effects of global warming, discusses the link between carbon dioxide and asthma, and briefly outlines his plan for reversing the effects of global warming.

Life on Mars? Life on Earth? -- by Marie-Claire Wilson.

Earth, the third planet from the Sun, is situated between Venus, the second planet, and Mars, the fourth planet. Mars is the most important planet with respect to ours. We may not realize how fragile the planets are. Mars is showing effects of human pollution in space, and that in turn will have repercussions on Earth.

Has it been scientifically proven that life once existed on Mars?

The media has recently widely reported that it’s been demonstrated that life exists on Mars. The Moon mission that brought back some Moon rocks for our scientists to examine proved that these rocks have the same composition as Earth rocks. Meteorites are identified by their special composition, and they lend strong evidence that there is life on Mars. Recently, in addition to Dead Mars, Dying Earth, we became partners in the scientific discovery called oxygen inventory depletion, or OID, in which the Earth’s oxygen levels were discovered to be dropping. I realized that we’re running a serious risk that if the planet Mars died, it would mean a catastrophe for Earth and the Universe.

Describe the effects of global warming on our atmosphere and the link between ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr John Brandenburg at BookBrowse
Dead Mars, Dying Earth jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr John Brandenburg but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jared Diamond

    Jared Diamond

    Jared Diamond, a noted polymath, is Professor of Geography at the University of California, Los Angeles. Among his many awards are the U.S. National Medal of Science, Japan's Cosmos Prize, a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, a... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dead Mars, Dying Earth

    Try:
    Collapse
    by Jared Diamond

  • Tim Flannery

    Tim Flannery

    Dr. Flannery has made contributions of international significance to the fields of palaeontology, mammalogy and conservation and to the understanding of science in the broader community. His work, which includes a number of ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dead Mars, Dying Earth

    Try:
    The Weather Makers
    by Tim Flannery

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Exiles
    The Exiles
    by Christina Baker Kline
    A young governess finds herself pregnant and in prison for theft and attempted murder. An Irish ...
  • Book Jacket: White Too Long
    White Too Long
    by Robert P. Jones
    Religious scholar Robert P. Jones doesn't pull any punches in his latest book, White Too Long: The ...
  • Book Jacket: Caste
    Caste
    by Isabel Wilkerson
    In 2020, the word "racist" remains taboo. Conceptually, racism is so culturally unacceptable, so ...
  • Book Jacket: The Deepest South of All
    The Deepest South of All
    by Richard Grant
    Author Richard Grant frequently uses his wanderlust to explore diverse stories that create a complex...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Blind Light
    by Stuart Evers

    A multigenerational story about two families bound together by the tides of history.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Agent Sonya

Agent Sonya: Moscow's Most Daring Wartime Spy

Master storyteller Ben Macintyre tells the true story behind the Cold War's most intrepid female spy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I M B T Give T T R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.