Zizou Corder biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Zizou Corder
photo credit: Justine Stoddart

Zizou Corder

Zizou Corder Biography

Zizou Corder is Louisa Young and Isabel Adomakoh Young, whose names are too long to fit on the front of a book. They have written five books together so far. Louisa is a grown-up and has written five grown-up books; Isabel is a kid and has written mostly schoolwork. The original Zizou is Isabel's lizard, only he spells it Zizu.

They live in London.

Bibliography
of Louisa Young

A Great Task of Happiness: The Life of Kathleen Scott
Baby Love.
Desiring Cairo
Tree of Pearls
The Book of the Heart
as Zizou Corder:
Lionboy
Lionboy 2: The Chase
Lionboy 3: The Truth
Lee Raven, Boy Thief
Halo

Zizou Corder's website

This bio was last updated on 01/02/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

The mother and daughter team that together write under the pseudonym Zizou Corder discuss their bestselling triology Lionboy, how they collaborate on their books and whether Isabel plans to be a writer in her own right - when she grows up!

(Both) - Describe the collaboration process?

Isabel: It didn't really seem like work - we'd just chat and have ideas and talk about what the people are going to do next, and how they feel, and whether there should be another shipwreck and should we bring the whale in yet and what we want in the circus. Then mum writes it all down and I read it and tell her if it's any good. Then she gets stuck and comes to talk to me again. Lots of things get into the book - Mum's boyfriend Robert is a film composer and he wrote some tunes for my lizard Zizu and they ended up in the book too - they're the circus music and it's printed in the book so you can play it. And there's a Ghanaian nursery rhyme that my Grandma knows. And there are some really good maps and diagrams.

Louisa: That pretty much describes it.


(Both) - How/Why did you decide that the protagonist would be a boy?

Louisa: He just was. Some people are. (Actually it went like this: 'Tell me a story mum.' 'What about?' 'A naughty boy called Charlie'.).


(Isabel) - Where did you get your ideas?

Mum found one growing in the compost heap, all cold and sad and lonely in its little coat, ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Zizou Corder at BookBrowse
Lionboy jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Zizou Corder but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Cornelia Funke

    Cornelia Funke

    The German author, Cornelia Funke was born in 1958 in Dorsten, in the German region of Westphalia. Following university, she worked for three years as a social worker in an educational project, working with children from ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Lionboy

    Try:
    The Thief Lord
    by Cornelia Funke

  • Anthony Horowitz

    Anthony Horowitz

    Anthony Horowitz is one of the most prolific and successful writers working in the UK – and is unique for working across so many media. Anthony is a born polymath; juggling writing books, TV series, films, plays and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Lionboy

    Try:
    Eagle Strike
    by Anthony Horowitz

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Moth
    Moth
    by Melody Razak
    On August 15, 1947, India gained independence from the United Kingdom, and on that same day the ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Lonely People
    All the Lonely People
    by Mike Gayle
    Mike Gayle's charming novel All the Lonely People introduces us to Hubert Bird, an 82-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: Perish
    Perish
    by LaToya Watkins
    It's a commonly cited fact that many perpetrators of sexual abuse, particularly men, are victims of ...
  • Book Jacket: Afterlives
    Afterlives
    by Abdulrazak Gurnah
    Afterlives, from Nobel Prize winner Abdulrazak Gurnah, begins in late 19th century East Africa in ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

Who Said...

Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.