Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Diana Gabaldon biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon

How to pronounce Diana Gabaldon: gabble-dn

Diana Gabaldon Biography

Diana Gabaldon is the author of the award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling Outlander novels.

The series is published in 26 countries and 23 languages, and includes a nonfiction companion volume, The Outlandish Companion, which provides details on the settings, background, characters, research, and writing of the novels. Gabaldon has also written several books in a sub-series featuring Lord John Grey (a major minor character from the main series): Lord John and the Private Matter, Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade, Lord John and the Hand of Devils, and Lord John and the Scottish Prisoner.

Returning to her comic-book roots, she has also written a graphic novel titled The Exile. The graphic novel is illustrated by Hoang Nguyen, and published by Del-Rey.

Gabaldon is presently working on the eighth book in the Outlander series, Written in My Own Heart's Blood, which has a release date of March 25, 2014 in the U.S.A. and a second volume of The Outlandish Companion. In addition, she is working on a contemporary mystery series, set in Phoenix and has written Highly Scholarly Introductions to recent Modern Library editions of Sir Walter Scott's Ivanhoe and Thomas Paine's Common Sense.

Dr. Gabaldon holds three degrees in science: Zoology, Marine Biology, and Quantitative Behavioral Ecology, (plus an honorary degree as Doctor of Humane Letters, which entitles her to be "Diana Gabaldon, Ph.D., D.H.L.) and spent a dozen years as a university professor with an expertise in scientific computation before beginning to write fiction. She has written scientific articles and textbooks, worked as a contributing editor on the MacMillan Encyclopedia of Computers, founded the scientific-computation journal Science Software Quarterly, and has written numerous comic-book scripts for Walt Disney.

She and her husband, Douglas Watkins, have three adult children and live mostly in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Diana Gabaldon's website

This bio was last updated on 01/16/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Diana Gabaldon in which she talks in detail about her Outlander series and the Lord John books.

This is a transcription from TheAuthorHour radio show. For additional questions not asked during the live show, visit TheAuthorHour

Matthew: My first guest today is Diana Gabaldon, international bestselling author of the widely popular Outlander series, which are filled with history and time travel. Her first book received the Rita Award for Best Novel from the Romance Writers of America and was also nominated for a Nebula Award from the Science Fiction Writers of America. The Outlander saga has sold over 15 million books and is enjoyed worldwide. Diana and I both live in Arizona, so we bump into each other from time to time. Not only are her books phenomenal, but she's a pretty cool person herself. I'm so happy to have you on the show today, Diana.

Diana: Well, thanks Matthew, I appreciate it.

Matthew: Well, real quick, let's go back in time for a moment, no pun intended, and let's talk about the first Outlander book.... A couple years ago you told me why you introduced time travel to your books, and I thought that would be a good way to introduce this.

Diana: Sure. Well, to begin with, it was a straightforward historical novel. I was intending to write a book for practice, just to learn ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Diana Gabaldon at BookBrowse
Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone jacket An Echo in the Bone jacket Lord John and the Hand of Devils jacket Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Diana Gabaldon but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...
  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.