Sheldon Siegel biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sheldon Siegel

Sheldon Siegel

Sheldon Siegel Biography

New York Times best-selling author Sheldon Siegel is a third-generation native of Chicago's Southeast Side, and he grew up a few blocks from Michelle Obama's family. Siegel and his family moved to the suburbs in the 1970s, and he graduated from New Trier High School a year ahead of Mayor Rahm Emanuel. He earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Illinois in Champaign in 1980 and his law degree from Boalt Law School at the University of California-Berkeley in 1983. He has been in private practice in San Francisco since then, and he specializes in corporate and securities law with the San Francisco office of Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP (an international law firm).

Siegel began writing his first book, Special Circumstances, on a laptop computer during his daily commute on the ferry from Marin County to San Francisco. A frequent speaker and sought-after teacher, Siegel is a San Francisco Library Literary Laureate, a member of the Board of Directors of the Northern California Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America, and an active member of the International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime. His work has been displayed at the Doe Library at the University of California at Berkeley, and he has been recognized as a Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Illinois and a Northern California Super Lawyer.

Siegel is the author of seven critically acclaimed legal thrillers featuring San Francisco criminal defense attorneys Mike Daley and Rosie Fernandez, two of the most beloved characters in contemporary crime fiction. His books have sold millions of copies worldwide. The Terrorist Next Door is one of Siegel's first novels that is set in his hometown. The book features South Chicago homicide detectives David Gold and A.C. Battle.

Siegel is a lifelong fan of the Chicago Bears, White Sox, Bulls, and Blackhawks. He lives in the San Francisco area with his wife, Linda, and their twin sons, Alan and Stephen. Siegel is currently working on his ninth novel.

Sheldon Siegel's website

This bio was last updated on 01/05/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Sheldon Siegel discusses multiple aspects of his books and writing habits. By the end of this extremely comprehensive interview you'll know everything there is to know about him, short of his inside-leg measurement!

What motivated you to be a writer?
I've wanted to write a novel since I was in high school, although quite honestly, I can't explain why. I started writing Special Circumstances with the modest goal of finding out whether I had any aptitude for writing fiction. Once I got started, I decided I wanted to finish the first draft by my fortieth birthday in July of 1998. I beat my deadline by three days. You should never underestimate the motivational value of a good midlife crisis.

Tell us about your training as a writer.
I have very little formal training as a writer. My undergraduate degree (from the University of Illinois at Champaign) was in accounting. I graduated from UC-Berkeley's Boalt Law School and I've been a corporate and securities lawyer since 1983. Special Circumstances was my first attempt at writing fiction since I was in high school. I took a 10-week creative writing class taught by two excellent authors, Katherine Forrest and Michael Nava. It helped me figure out structure and plotting. I wouldn't have finished Special Circumstances if I hadn't taken the class. I still meet with the other seven students every other Thursday night, where we read and critique each other&#...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sheldon Siegel at BookBrowse
Final Verdict jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sheldon Siegel but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Richard North Patterson

    Richard North Patterson

    Richard North Patterson was born on February 22, 1947 in Berkeley, California. He grew up in the suburbs of Cleveland and graduated from Ohio Wesleyan University in 1968. In 1971 he graduated from Case Western Reserve Law ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Final Verdict

    Try:
    Balance of Power
    by Richard North Patterson

  • Kermit Roosevelt

    Kermit Roosevelt

    Kermit Roosevelt III is a member of the Roosevelt family and law professor at the University of Pennsylvania Law School. He wrote The Myth of Judicial Activism (2006) and the D.C. legal thriller In the Shadow of the Law (... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Final Verdict

    Try:
    In The Shadow of The Law
    by Kermit Roosevelt

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Histories
    American Histories
    by John E. Wideman
    In American Histories, a collection of 21 short stories, John Edgar Wideman draws America's present ...
  • Book Jacket: I Found My Tribe
    I Found My Tribe
    by Ruth Fitzmaurice
    Ruth O'Neill was only 28 when she married film director Simon Fitzmaurice in 2004. Changing her...
  • Book Jacket: The Art of the Wasted Day
    The Art of the Wasted Day
    by Patricia Hampl
    Patricia Hampl wants you to know that daydreaming is not a waste of a day. Nor is spending time ...
  • Book Jacket: Circe
    Circe
    by Madeline Miller
    Towards the end of Madeline Miller's novel Circe, the titular nymph is questioned by her son ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Music of the Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner

A love story for things lost and restored, a lyrical hymn to the power of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

Win this book!
Win The Leavers

The Leavers by Lisa Ko

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--now in paperback!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T E H N Clothes

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.