Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022

Meena Cheng biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Meena Cheng

Meena Cheng

Meena Cheng Biography

Meena Cheng is a Chinese immigrant who traveled alone to this country at age 17. Fortune in Your Cookies; Finding Financial Wisdom in Everyday Eating is her only book. It weaves together many of her life's passions (food and money), convictions (set goals, work hard) and experiences (two decades of working in the financial industry).

Asked what inspired her to write the book, she said the biggest reason was her immense need to teach. Writing this book gave her the luxury to teach a wider audience without leaving her home. Cheng received a Bachelor Degree in Accounting from the University of Utah, passed her CPA exam on the first try, and later became a Certified Financial Planner.



This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Meena Cheng discusses what made her write a personal finance book in a fictional form, why she compares food to finance, and what she hopes readers will do once they've read the book.

What made you write a personal finance book?
I have worked as a CPA and Certified Financial Planner for over twenty years. And much of what I do involves educating individuals on the subject of personal finance, so their lives can be empowered and enriched by it. Therefore, writing the book really is a natural extension of what I do every day. The difference is, instead of doing it one on one, now I can reach a larger group of people, more than I would ever have been able to reach in my practice.

Combining food with money is such an unusual concept. Where did you get the idea?
I have always loved to cook and have a passion for food. So when I started teaching financial classes at the University in the mid-nineties, I found myself using food metaphors and cooking principles to make the classes more fun and also to help get the financial points across. And when I did that, you could literally see the lights come on and feel the excitement swirl in the classroom. And over the years, I accumulated quite a stack of those food metaphors and the book is a compilation of that experiences.

What makes your book different from the other personal finance books?
The world does not need another personal finance book...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Meena Cheng at BookBrowse
Fortune In Your Cookies jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Meena Cheng but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Bewilderment
    by Richard Powers
    In 2019, Richard Powers won the Pulitzer Prize for The Overstory, a sprawling novel whose characters...
  • Book Jacket: I'm the Girl
    I'm the Girl
    by Courtney Summers
    YA author Courtney Summers doesn't believe in shielding her teenage readers from the world's darkest...
  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.
Who Said...

Common sense is genius dressed in its working clothes.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.