Louise Rennison biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Louise Rennison
Photo: Jason Bell

Louise Rennison

Louise Rennison Biography

Louise Rennison was an English author and comedian. She lived in Brighton, the San Francisco of England (apart from the sun, Americans, the Golden Gate Bridge, and earthquakes). Following the success of her one-woman autobiographical show, Stevie Wonder Felt My Face, she wrote for many British comedy stars and published ten young adult novels featuring Georgia Nicholson. The first two novels in her bestselling series, Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging, and I'm Wearing Really Big Knickers, were adapted into a film directed by Gurinda Chadha. She also wrote a series of books about Georgia's younger cousin, The Misadventures of Tallulah Casey.

She died in February 2016 aged 63. In a statement, HarperCollins said: "Nobody wrote for teenagers like she did, she understood them, their lives and their extraordinary and powerful friendships. In life, as in her writing, she brought joy and laughter. Our thoughts are with her family, friends and the readers whose lives she has touched for almost 20 years."

Louise Rennison's website

This bio was last updated on 03/01/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

An interview with Louise Rennison

Grew up in?
A quite notorious place in Leeds Yorkshire, its often featured in documentaries as a place NOT to grow up in. I didn't know that at the time so consequently really liked it. I lived in a three bedroom house with my mum and dad and aunt and uncle and cousin, my grandparents and one of the those free form uncles that hang around. Also my grandmother was an Irish catholic and my grandad was a Yorkshire Jew so I leave it to you to imagine the weddings and funerals. There was a lot of fighting and crying and mad dancing.

Childhood ambition?
Erm, I thought (wrongly) I might be a famous Irish dancer, or one of those people who is just famous for being themselves. From a very early age I imagined there was a camera following me everywhere, which was a bit embarrassing when I went to the loo...but that is the price of fame.

Favorite sports team?
Leeds United football club or "Our brave lads" as I call them. Noble men all of them ...with lovely shorts.

Book to take on a desert island?
Something big and fat. Or possibly a "Guide to ship building"

Favorite city?
Well not be too sycophantic, oh go on then I will be, I LOVE New York, sadly because they seem to like English ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Louise Rennison at BookBrowse
Love Is a Many Trousered Thing jacket Then He Ate My Boy Entrancers jacket Dancing in My Nuddy-Pants jacket Knocked Out by My Nunga-Nungas jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Louise Rennison but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 14 similar authors

View all 14 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Victoria
by Daisy Goodwin

"A hit…The research is impeccable, the attention to detail, perfect." - The Sunday Mirror (UK)

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk
    by Kathleen Rooney

    "Effervescent with verve, wit, and heart" - Booklist, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Rise
    by Cara Brookins

    How a house built a family. An inspiring real-life story.

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win No Man's Land

No Man's Land
by Simon Tolkien

Inspired by the experiences of his grandfather, J. R. R. Tolkien, during World War I.

Enter

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Sellout
    by Paul Beatty
    Paul Beatty's The Sellout was one of those books that flew somewhat under the radar when it was...
  • Book Jacket: Ruler of the Night
    Ruler of the Night
    by David Morrell
    Amateur sleuth Thomas De Quincey is back in a mystery set in Victorian England. This time, he and ...
  • Book Jacket: A List of Cages
    A List of Cages
    by Robin Roe
    Robin Roe has written one helluva young adult debut novel. Alternating first person narratives by a ...

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H W S W T Devil S H A L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.