Kate White biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Kate White
Photo: Peter Buckingham

Kate White

Kate White Biography

Kate White is an American writer, magazine editor, and speaker. She served as the editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan from 1998 to 2012. She is also a critically acclaimed author of both fiction and nonfiction books, including I Shouldn't Be Telling You This , 9 Secrets of Women Who Get Everything They Want, Lethally Blond, and Hush.

White currently resides in Manhattan with her husband and two children. She is also the editor of The Mystery Writers of America Cookbook.

Kate White's website

This bio was last updated on 10/17/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Q&A with Kate White

You're the author of two highly acclaimed non-fiction books for women on getting ahead in their careers. Why did you decide to turn to writing murder mysteries?
I've wanted to be a murder mystery writer ever since I was in my early 20's. I fell in love with Nancy Drew books when I was 12 and later became addicted to reading all kinds of mysteries, from English cozies to hardboiled private eye stuff. I soon began having a fantasy about writing my own. But I also loved women's magazines and over time I worked my way up in that field. A few years ago when I was the editor-in-chief of Redbook, a woman applying to be our astrology expert read my palm and said that there were two aspects to me: the side that wanted to have a job that involved sitting in the corner office and running things, and a side that needed to do something purely creative. I decided right then to make the time to write a murder mystery.
No sooner did I get started with it, however, when I encountered one of those mixed blessings in life, I was offered the Cosmo job. It was a fantastic opportunity, but it required 100 percent of my concentration. I didn't feel I should be channeling my creative energy ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Kate White at BookBrowse
So Pretty It Hurts jacket Lethally Blond jacket Over Her Dead Body jacket If Looks Could Kill jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Kate White but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Janet Evanovich

    Janet Evanovich

    Janet Evanovich (born Janet Schneider, 1943, in South River, New Jersey) began her career writing short contemporary romance novels under the pen name Steffie Hall, but became a #1 New York Times bestselling author writing a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    If Looks Could Kill

    Try:
    Hot Six
    by Janet Evanovich

  • Harley Jane Kozak

    Harley Jane Kozak

    Harley Jane Kozak was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania and grew up in North Dakota and Nebraska, where her mother taught music at the University in Lincoln. She had acted in more than 30 plays when she went to New York City... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    If Looks Could Kill

    Try:
    Dating Dead Men
    by Harley Jane Kozak

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Holding Up the Universe
    Holding Up the Universe
    by Jennifer Niven
    Jennifer Niven's spectacular Holding Up the Universe has everything that I love about Young ...
  • Book Jacket: Coffin Road
    Coffin Road
    by Peter May
    From its richly atmospheric opening to its dramatic conclusion, Peter May's Coffin Road is a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guineveres
    The Guineveres
    by Sarah Domet
    It's a human need to know one's own identity, to belong to someone, to yearn for a place ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win All the Gallant Men

All The Gallant Men

The first memoir by a USS Arizona survivor, 75 years after Pearl Harbor.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

K Y Eyes P

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.