Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

Kate White biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Kate White
Photo: Peter Buckingham

Kate White

Kate White Biography

Kate White is an American writer, magazine editor, and speaker. She served as the editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan from 1998 to 2012. She is also a critically acclaimed author of both fiction and nonfiction books, including I Shouldn't Be Telling You This , 9 Secrets of Women Who Get Everything They Want, Lethally Blond, and Hush.

White currently resides in Manhattan with her husband and two children. She is also the editor of The Mystery Writers of America Cookbook.

Kate White's website

This bio was last updated on 10/17/2015. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Find out how White, editor in chief of Cosmopolitan and mother of two children, found the time to turn her hand to fiction.

You're the author of two highly acclaimed non-fiction books for women on getting ahead in their careers. Why did you decide to turn to writing murder mysteries?
I've wanted to be a murder mystery writer ever since I was in my early 20's. I fell in love with Nancy Drew books when I was 12 and later became addicted to reading all kinds of mysteries, from English cozies to hardboiled private eye stuff. I soon began having a fantasy about writing my own. But I also loved women's magazines and over time I worked my way up in that field. A few years ago when I was the editor-in-chief of Redbook, a woman applying to be our astrology expert read my palm and said that there were two aspects to me: the side that wanted to have a job that involved sitting in the corner office and running things, and a side that needed to do something purely creative. I decided right then to make the time to write a murder mystery.
No sooner did I get started with it, however, when I encountered one of those mixed blessings in life, I was offered the Cosmo job. It was a fantastic opportunity, but it required 100 percent of my concentration. I didn't feel I should be channeling my creative energy elsewhere, so I ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Kate White at BookBrowse
So Pretty It Hurts jacket Over Her Dead Body jacket If Looks Could Kill jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Kate White but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Janet Evanovich

    Janet Evanovich

    Janet Evanovich (born Janet Schneider, 1943, in South River, New Jersey) began her career writing short contemporary romance novels under the pen name Steffie Hall, but became a #1 New York Times bestselling author writing a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    If Looks Could Kill

    Try:
    Hot Six
    by Janet Evanovich

  • Harley Jane Kozak

    Harley Jane Kozak

    Harley Jane Kozak was born in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania and grew up in North Dakota and Nebraska, where her mother taught music at the University in Lincoln. She had acted in more than 30 plays when she went to New York City... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    If Looks Could Kill

    Try:
    Dating Dead Men
    by Harley Jane Kozak

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Who Said...

If we did all the things we are capable of, we would literally astound ourselves

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.