Rosie O'Donnell biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Rosie O'Donnell

Rosie O'Donnell

Rosie O'Donnell Biography

Roseann "Rosie" O'Donnell is an eleven-time Emmy Award-winning American comedian, television talk show host, author, and film, television, and stage actress. She has also been a magazine editor and continues to be a celebrity blogger, LGBT civil rights activist, television producer, and collaborative partner in the LGBT family vacation company R Family Vacations.

O'Donnell lost her mother to cancer as a pre-teen and has consistently stressed the importance of protecting children and supporting families throughout her career. O'Donnell started her comedy career while still a teenager, and her big break was on the talent show Star Search. A TV sitcom and a series of movies introduced the actress to a wider audience, and in 1996 she started hosting The Rosie O'Donnell Show which won multiple Emmy awards.

During her years on The Rosie O'Donnell Show she wrote her first book, a memoir called Find Me, and developed a reputation for being "the queen of nice" as well as a reputation for charitable philanthropy. She used the book's $3 million advance to establish the For All Kids foundation and promoted numerous other charity schemes and projects. O'Donnell is a foster — and adoptive — mother. She has since continued to support many LGBT causes and issues.

In 2006 O'Donnell became the new moderator on The View, boosting ratings and attracting controversies with her liberal views.

In 2007 O'Donnell released her second memoir, Celebrity Detox, which focuses on her struggles with fame and her time at The View.

She continues to do charity work and remains focused on LGBT and family-related issues.

Rosie O'Donnell's website

This bio was last updated on 01/13/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Rosie O'Donnell at BookBrowse
Find Me jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Rosie O'Donnell but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lisa Brennan-Jobs

    Lisa Brennan-Jobs

    Lisa Nicole Brennan-Jobs was born May 17, 1978, and is the daughter of Apple co-founder Steve Jobs and Chrisann Brennan. For several years, Jobs denied paternity, which led to a legal case and various media reports in the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Find Me

    Try:
    Small Fry
    by Lisa Brennan-Jobs

  • Oral Lee Brown

    Oral Lee Brown

    Oral Lee Brown was selected as one of Glamour magazine's "Women of the Year" in 2002, and appeared on the Today show as part of its "People Who Make a Difference" series. She has also been a guest on The Oprah Winfrey Show, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Find Me

    Try:
    The Promise
    by Oral Lee Brown

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Everyone Knows Your Mother Is a Witch
    Everyone Knows Your Mother Is a Witch
    by Rivka Galchen
    Rivka Galchen's novel Everyone Knows Your Mother Is a Witch is a historical fiction tale set in the ...
  • Book Jacket: Paradise, Nevada
    Paradise, Nevada
    by Dario Diofebi
    In Dario Diofebi's novel Paradise, Nevada, the neon allure of Las Vegas is pulled back to reveal ...
  • Book Jacket: Things We Lost to the Water
    Things We Lost to the Water
    by Eric Nguyen
    Spanning over 30 years, Eric Nguyen's debut novel Things We Lost to the Water is epic in scope but ...
  • Book Jacket: The Final Revival of Opal & Nev
    The Final Revival of Opal & Nev
    by Dawnie Walton
    Within the general arc of many well-established and chronicled historical events is oral history's ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Book of Lost Names
by Kristin Harmel
A heartrending novel of survival, inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Morningside Heights
    by Joshua Henkin

    A tender and big-hearted novel about love in the face of loss, from the award-winning author of The World Without You.

  • Book Jacket

    At the Chinese Table
    by Carolyn Phillips

    Part memoir of life in Taiwan, part love story—A beautifully told account of China's cuisines with recipes.

Win This Book!
Win Together We Will Go

Together We Will Go
by J. Michael Straczynski

A novel as much about the will to live as the choice to end it.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

C T T Chase

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.