Doug Peine biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Doug Peine

Doug Peine

Doug Peine Biography

Doug Peine is a lawyer practicing criminal and civil appeals in St. Paul and Minneapolis, Minnesota. He has published several articles in legal publications. He and his wife, Christine Scotillo, and their son, Nicholas, live in St. Paul.



This bio was last updated on 09/05/2015. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Doug Peine explains why he things why he thinks good parenting is just 'not that complicated', and why, as a trial lawyer and parent, he feels in a unique position to give advice!

What is the logic, if any, of a lawyer writing a parenting book?
I was in line at the checkout at Kmart when I had one of those sudden flashes of insight, one of those moments we see connections between things we'd never noticed before. I had spent most of that afternoon trying unsuccessfully to help an estranged couple resolve their disputes so that they could avoid the trauma and expense of a divorce trial. Now, in Kmart, I watched as the toddler in a cart ahead of me absolutely refused to put back the candy bar she had grabbed from a box by the checkout. There in that child's body language, tone of voice, and insistence upon irrationality did I see the very same patterns played out in my conference room that afternoon. And so it dawned on me: It's Not That Complicated.

Do you honestly believe good parenting is "not that complicated"?
I absolutely believe it. And the supporting evidence is abundant. Think, for example, of the times you yourself have been held hostage to one of those public, pitched battles between parent and child. Do you see an endless variety of parental mistakes? Or the same one or two over and over? And why is it that unsophisticated parents who take the job seriously have...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Doug Peine at BookBrowse
It's Not That Complicated jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Doug Peine but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Moth
    Moth
    by Melody Razak
    On August 15, 1947, India gained independence from the United Kingdom, and on that same day the ...
  • Book Jacket: All the Lonely People
    All the Lonely People
    by Mike Gayle
    Mike Gayle's charming novel All the Lonely People introduces us to Hubert Bird, an 82-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: Perish
    Perish
    by LaToya Watkins
    It's a commonly cited fact that many perpetrators of sexual abuse, particularly men, are victims of ...
  • Book Jacket: Afterlives
    Afterlives
    by Abdulrazak Gurnah
    Afterlives, from Nobel Prize winner Abdulrazak Gurnah, begins in late 19th century East Africa in ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Who Said...

A million monkeys...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.