Laura Carroll biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Laura Carroll

Laura Carroll

Laura Carroll Biography

Laura Carroll is an accomplished communicator and popular public speaker, author, and consultant on human behavior. She has her Master’s in Industrial Psychology, and has been a successful business consultant and seminar leader for the past fifteen years. She has provided lectures and symposiums on personal development skills, and her expertise includes conflict resolution, career development, layoff survival, improving management skills and leadership styles. She also has extensive experience in designing and writing educational programs, employee screening and selection materials, and designs employee motivational programs.

Laura’s efforts in counseling employees who are dealing with the trauma of a layoff resulted in the creation of a book, titled, Finding Fulfillment from the Inside Out: How to Unravel the Real You and Discover Your Purpose in Life. She has also been published in several major consumer and trade magazines.

Laura wrote Families of Two because she wanted to learn more about successful longtime married couples who did not have children by choice, to aid those who are deciding whether or not to have children, and to address the many assumptions and misconceptions often made about those who decide to be childfree. Laura and her husband of 12 years live in Oregon and have no children by choice.

Laura Carroll's website

This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

>An interview with Laura Carroll, conducted by Carol Dominy. First published in BellaOnline.com.

In the introduction to Families of Two: Interviews with Happily Married Couples without Children by Choice, author Laura Carroll describes her role as that of mid-wife, delivering the stories of the couples she interviewed to the printed page. Recently, I had the opportunity to ask Laura about her book, the couples she interviewed, and childfree marriage.

What inspired you to write this book?
A couple of years ago my husband and I wanted to find out about couples who had made the same choice as we did, and who had been married for awhile. We wanted to learn about lifelong marriages that did not include parenthood. When I could not find a book that addressed this topic directly, as a writer I decided to go find the couples myself!

Why is this topic important now?
The number of childfree couples is increasing. An estimated 14% of couples do not have children today, and this number is expected to increase to 20%, or to 1 in 5 couples by the year 2010. In 1975, 1 in 10 women did not have children. Today it is 1 in 5. The Census researchers I have talked to indicate that although they do not directly track the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Laura Carroll at BookBrowse
Families of Two jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Laura Carroll but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • John Gray

    John Gray

    John Gray, Ph.D., is the author of Mars and Venus on a Date, a follow-up to his phenomenal bestselling book Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus, which has sold more than 6 million copies in the United States ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Families of Two

    Try:
    Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus
    by John Gray

  • Cheryl Jarvis

    Cheryl Jarvis

    Cheryl Jarvis is a freelance journalist who has written more than one hundred published articles. Her articles and essays have appeared in a wide range of publications, including the Chicago Tribune, the Wall Street Journal... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Families of Two

    Try:
    The Marriage Sabbatical
    by Cheryl Jarvis

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Show me the books he loves and I shall know the man...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Almost Sisters
    by Joshilyn Jackson

    A powerful, emotionally resonant novel of the South.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.