MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Elmore Leonard biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Elmore Leonard
Photo by Linda Solomon

Elmore Leonard

Elmore Leonard Biography

Elmore Leonard became interested in writing in 1935, after reading a serialization of All Quiet on the Western Front in the Detroit Times. Touched by the story, he wrote a play based on the novel for his fifth-grade classroom, using the desks as "No-Man's-Land." In high school he wrote a story or two for the school paper but spent most of his time reading. After graduating in 1943 Leonard joined the navy and served with a Seabee unit in the South Pacific. He left the service in 1946 and enrolled at the University of Detroit. At the university he began writing again, entering short story contests and placing third in one of them. He graduated in 1950 with a major in English and philosophy.

In 1949, while still in college, Leonard joined the Campbell-Ewald advertising agency. He also began writing in earnest during this period. He had his first success in 1951 when Argosy magazine published his short story "Trail of the Apache." Other stories—all westerns—followed in such publications as Zane Grey Western and The Saturday Evening Post. In 1953 Leonard published his first novel, The Bounty Hunters, followed by four more over the next eight years. Between 1951 and 1961 he published 30 short stories, five novels, and made two sales to the movies. When his novel Hombre was chosen as one of the best westerns of all time by the Western Writers of America in 1961, Leonard finally felt confident enough to quit the advertising agency and devote all of his time to writing.


As the market for westerns began to dry up, however, Leonard found himself writing educational films for Encyclopaedia Britannica, industrial films for corporations and advertising and sales material. He switched from westerns to crime with the publication of The Big Bounce. During the 1970s and 1980s he developed a devoted following with his novels Fifty-two Pickup, City Primeval, Stick and LaBrava. When Glitz was published in 1985, it became Leonard's "breakout" bestseller; he began to receive long-overdue attention, including a Newsweek cover story. Each of his novels since then—Bandits, Touch, Freaky Deaky, Killshot, Get Shorty, Maximum Bob, Rum Punch, Pronto, Riding the Rap, Out of Sight and Cuba Libre —has been a national bestseller as well as a critical success.

Three of Leonard's books have been nominated for the Edgar Allan Poe Award by the Mystery Writers of America: The Switch, nominated for Best Original Paperback Novel of 1978; Split Images, for Best Novel of 1981; and LaBrava, which won for Best Novel in 1983. Maximum Bob was also awarded the first annual International Association of Crime Writers' North American Hammett Prize in 1991. In 1992 the Mystery Writers gave Leonard the Grand Master Award, which "is presented only to individuals who, by a lifetime of achievement, have proved themselves preeminent in the craft of the mystery and dedicated to the advancement of the genre."

Success has followed Leonard to Hollywood as well. Released in October 1995, "Get Shorty," starred John Travolta and was an immediate critical and commercial success; the same is true of "Out of Sight," which starred George Clooney and was released in June 1998. Award-winning director Quentin Tarantino ("Pulp Fiction") directed "Jackie Brown," a film based on Leonard’s novel Rum Punch, in December 1997. Tarantino also plans to bring three more Leonard novels to the silver screen: Bandits, Freaky Deaky and Killshot. Leonard's 34th novel, Cuba Libre, is a story of high adventure, history, romance and nefarious undertakings in Cuba. The film rights to the novel, which was released in February 1998, were bought by Joel and Ethan Coen of "Fargo" fame. "Maximum Bob" was an ABC-TV miniseries starring Beau Bridges.

In September 1998, Dell published The Tonto Woman and Other Western Stories and also issued a trade paperback trilogy of Elmore Leonard’s Western Roundups (#1, #2, #3), one each month, from October through December 1998. Delacorte Press will publish Be Cool, the follow-up to Get Shorty, in February 1999.

A full-length biography, Elmore Leonard, by David Geherin, was published by Continuum as part of their Literature and Life series. Leonard was also the subject of an hour-long documentary produced in 1991 by the BBC, entitled "Elmore Leonard's Criminal Record"; the documentary has aired in the United States on The Learning Channel.

Elmore Leonard died on August 20 2013; he is survived by five children and nine grandchildren.

Elmore Leonard's website

This bio was last updated on 08/20/2013. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Elmore Leonard at BookBrowse
Raylan jacket Djibouti jacket The Hot Kid jacket Pagan Babies jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Elmore Leonard but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lou Berney

    Lou Berney

    Lou Berney is the author of November Road, The Long and Faraway Gone (winner of the Edgar, Anthony, Barry, Macavity, and ALA awards), Whiplash River, and Gutshot Straight. He's also written a collection of stories, The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Hot Kid

    Try:
    November Road
    by Lou Berney

  • Christopher Buckley

    Christopher Buckley

    Christopher Buckley is a novelist, essayist, humorist, critic, magazine editor and memoirist. His books include Thank You for Smoking, The Judge Hunter, and The Relic Master. He worked as a merchant seaman and White House ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Pagan Babies

    Try:
    Boomsday
    by Christopher Buckley

We recommend 13 similar authors

View all 13 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Between Two Fires
    Between Two Fires
    by Joshua Yaffa
    It was thought by many that the fall of the Soviet Union would transform Russia from a totalitarian ...
  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
    This Is Happiness
    by Niall Williams
    Niall Williams's This Is Happiness offers an extraordinary portrait of a particular moment in the ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Cartier's Hope
    by M. J. Rose

    A Gilded Age gem of ambition & betrayal from the author of New York Times bestseller, Tiffany Blues.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
by Kim Michele Richardson

A story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.