BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Eric Jerome Dickey Biography, Books, and Similar Authors

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Eric Jerome Dickey

Eric Jerome Dickey

Eric Jerome Dickey Biography

Eric Jerome Dickey is a New York Times best-selling American author best known for his novels about contemporary African-American life. He is also known for writing several crime novels involving grifters, ex cons, and assassins, the latter novels having more diverse settings, moving from Los Angeles to the UK to the West Indies, each having an international cast of characters.

He was born in Memphis, Tennessee and attended the University of Memphis, where he earned a degree in Computer System Technology. In 1983, he moved to Los Angeles to pursue a career in engineering. After working as a software developer, Dickey's artistic talents surfaced, inspiring him to become an actor and a stand-up comedian. He soon began working the local and national comedy circuit.

In the early 1990s, the aerospace industry took a downward turn and Dickey found himself "downsized," but took this as an opportunity to embark on a writing career. Having written several comedy scripts for his personal comedy act, Dickey started writing poetry and short stories.

In 1994 his first published short story Thirteen appeared in the IBWA's River Crossing, Voices of the Diaspora--an Anthology of the International Black Experience. A second short story Days Gone By was published in the magazine A Place to Enter.

With those successes behind him, Dickey decided to fine-tune some of his earlier work and developed a screenplay called Cappuccino. In February 1998, Cappuccino made its local debut during the Pan African Film Festival in Los Angeles. Dickey is now the author of more than a dozen novels (as well as a mini-series of comic books). His books have appeared on the bestseller lists of the Blackboard, The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times. These books inlcude Sister, Sister (1996), Friends & Lovers (1997), Milk In My Coffee (1998), Between Lovers (2001), Black Silk (2002), Thieves' Paradise (2002), Tempted by Trouble (2010), An Accidental Affair (2012), Decadence (2013) and A wanted woman (2014).

Eric Jerome Dickey's website

This bio was last updated on 11/11/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Eric Jerome Dickey at BookBrowse
Waking with Enemies jacket Genevieve jacket Between Lovers jacket Liar's Game jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Eric Jerome Dickey but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • E Lynn Harris

    E Lynn Harris

    E. Lynn Harris was born in Flint, Michigan and raised, along with three sisters, in Little Rock, Arkansas. He attended the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville where he was the school's first black yearbook editor, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Liar's Game

    Try:
    Not A Day Goes By
    by E Lynn Harris

  • Terry McMillan

    Terry McMillan

    Terry McMillan is the critically acclaimed, award-winning author of several novels and recipient of the Essence Award for Excellence in Literature. McMillan's ability to capture the dilemmas facing modern-day women with humor... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Liar's Game

    Try:
    A Day Late and A Dollar Short
    by Terry McMillan

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Blue Ruin
    Blue Ruin
    by Hari Kunzru
    Like Red Pill and White Tears, the first two novels in Hari Kunzru's loosely connected Three-...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.