Fran Dorf biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Fran Dorf

Fran Dorf

Fran Dorf Biography

Fran Dorf was born in a suburb of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1953. As a teenager, she read voraciously, wrote poetry and stories, and began working on a novel at the age of sixteen. She graduated from high school in 1971. She attended Boston University's School of Public Communication, which she credits with instilling in her the basics of good, crisp writing, and from which she graduated cum laude in 1975.

After giving birth to her daughter, she went back to graduate school to study psychology. During this time, she began to write fiction for the first time as an adult. It quickly captivated her and overtook her intent to pursue a career as a psychologist. In 1985, she received a master's degree in psychology from New York University, and in 1990, published her first novel, A Reasonable Madness, a story about a psychiatrist and his patient. She followed this with Flight, in 1992. Both novels were Literary Guild book club selections, and received critical acclaim, in America, Germany, and internationally. A Reasonable Madness has been translated into nine foreign languages. While both of these novels explore human passions and combine elements of the thriller or mystery with magical or supernatural touches, they are primarily thrillers. Saving Elijah, being published in June, 2000, represents a departure. The tragic death of her son in 1994 has had a profound effect on her life, which she hopes has had a transforming and deepening effect on her work. Part family drama and part ghost story, Saving Elijah represents the culmination of that transformation to date.

Fran Dorf lives near New York City with her husband.

Fran Dorf's website

This bio was last updated on 10/11/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Fran Dorf at BookBrowse
Saving Elijah jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Fran Dorf but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Joan Didion

    Joan Didion

    Joan Didion was born in Sacramento, CA in 1934, the daughter of an officer in the Army Air Corps. A shy, bookish child, Didion spent her teenage years typing out Ernest Hemingway stories to learn how sentences work. She ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Saving Elijah

    Try:
    The Year of Magical Thinking
    by Joan Didion

  • Jodi Picoult

    Jodi Picoult

    Jodi Picoult is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of twenty-five novels, including Small Great Things, Leaving Time, The Storyteller, Lone Wolf, Sing You Home, House Rules, Handle with Care, Change of Heart, Nineteen ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Saving Elijah

    Try:
    My Sister's Keeper
    by Jodi Picoult

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Second Place
    Second Place
    by Rachel Cusk
    Rachel Cusk's Outline trilogy drew much of its substance from monologues and dialogues that swirled ...
  • Book Jacket: The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    by Julietta Henderson
    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman is the comedic debut novel of writer Julietta Henderson. It ...
  • Book Jacket: In Search of a Kingdom
    In Search of a Kingdom
    by Laurence Bergreen
    The Age of Exploration in the early modern period, lasting roughly from the 15th through 16th ...
  • Book Jacket: Under a White Sky
    Under a White Sky
    by Elizabeth Kolbert
    You can never go back home...so the saying goes. According to Pulitzer Prize-winning science writer ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Of Women and Salt
by Gabriela Garcia
A kaleidoscopic portrait of generations of women from a 19th-century Cuban cigar factory to the present day.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ariadne
    by Jennifer Saint

    A mesmerizing debut novel about Ariadne, Princess of Crete for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe.

  • Book Jacket

    Crossing the River
    by Carol Smith

    A powerful exploration of grief that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

Who Said...

If we did all the things we are capable of, we would literally astound ourselves

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S I T closet

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.