Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

Eve J. Chung biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Eve J. Chung

Eve J. Chung

Eve J. Chung Biography

Eve J. Chung is a Taiwanese American human rights lawyer focusing on gender equality and women's rights. She lives in New York with her husband, two children, and two dogs.

Eve J. Chung's website

This bio was last updated on 05/03/2024. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Eve J. Chung speaks about her debut novel, Daughters of Shandong

This story is based on your grandmother's escape with her mother and sisters out of mainland China during the Chinese Communist Revolution in the late 1940s. Can you tell us more?

When I was a child, I watched my grandmother use a heat lamp on her knees every night. She did this while watching Chinese period dramas, and I didn't think much of it. My grandmother was a hoarder of food (and almost everything else), and was always paranoid that my cousins and I were too frail, despite all of us being medically overweight. As an adult, I realized that many of her quirks were the result of trauma. After her father abandoned her, along with her mother and sisters, in mainland China, my grandmother lived on the brink of starvation until she made it to Taiwan. Her knees were irreparably damaged from kneeling on the ice during denunciation rallies run by the Communists, and she had liver disease from malnutrition. Though the story is told from my grandmother's point of view, the heroine is really my great-grandmother, who once had bound feet, yet still managed to drag three daughters through war-torn China and track down the husband who left them all behind.

This is your first novel. What inspired you to write it?

Daughters of Shandong was a...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Eve J. Chung at BookBrowse
Daughters of Shandong jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Eve J. Chung but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Min Jin Lee

    Min Jin Lee

    Min Jin Lee's Pachinko (Feb 2017) was a finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction, a New York Times 10 Best Books of 2017, a USA Today Top 10 Books of 2017, and an American Booksellers Association's Indie ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Daughters of Shandong

    Try:
    Pachinko
    by Min Jin Lee

  • Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    Dr Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai is an award-winning writer in both Vietnamese and English. Her eight books of poetry, short fiction and non-fiction in Vietnamese have received some of Vietnam's top literary awards ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Daughters of Shandong

    Try:
    The Mountains Sing
    by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.