We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Natasha Solomons biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Natasha Solomons

Natasha Solomons

Natasha Solomons Biography

Natasha Solomons is the author of five internationally bestselling novels, including Mr Rosenblum's List, The Novel in the Viola, which was chosen for the Richard & Judy Book Club, and The Gallery of Vanished Husbands. Natasha lives in Dorset with her son, daughter and her husband, the children's author, David Solomons with whom she also writes screenplays. Her novels have been translated into 17 languages. When not writing in the studio, Natasha can usually be found in her garden.



This bio was last updated on 09/19/2023. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

A Conversation with Natasha Solomons about the challenges of offering a new perspective on a tale as well-known as Romeo and Juliet

Was it daunting offering a new take on a story as well-known as Romeo and Juliet? What was most exciting about developing an alternate interpretation?

I was so daunted! It's one of Shakespeare's best loved plays and everyone knows the story even if they've never read it or seen it performed. Also, I took a firm, unequivocal stance on the play and the character of Romeo and I knew from the beginning that some people would really resist my interpretation. The more books I've written, however, the braver I've become. I'd prefer to write a novel that some people absolutely adore and feel really passionate about, than a safer story everyone likes. I've learned to be bold. There was only one moment when the thought of readers' reactions did wobble me, so I spoke to a good friend who's a well-known Shakespeare director. He told me to think like a director of a radical production, not like an author, and to imagine my book with its two covers like the wings of the stage: whatever happens on my page, as on the stage, belongs to me. This novel is my vision, my production. That's not to say that others can't exist too. That's the joy of Shakespeare—there are so many interpretations. We reinvent him for every age.

How did you first ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Natasha Solomons at BookBrowse
Fair Rosaline jacket The House at Tyneford jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Natasha Solomons but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Elizabeth Fremantle

    Elizabeth Fremantle

    Elizabeth is the acclaimed author of Sisters of Treason, Queen's Gambit, Watch the Lady, and The Poison Bed. She has a first in English and an MA in creative writing from Birkbeck, University of London. She has contributed to... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fair Rosaline

    Try:
    Disobedient
    by Elizabeth Fremantle

  • Sandra Newman

    Sandra Newman

    Sandra Newman is the author of the novels The Men, The Heavens (a New York Times Notable Book of the Year), and The Country of Ice Cream Star, longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction and named one of the best ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fair Rosaline

    Try:
    Julia
    by Sandra Newman

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.