We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Leyna Krow biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Leyna Krow
Photo: © Murray Krow

Leyna Krow

Leyna Krow Biography

Leyna Krow is the author of the short story collection I'm Fine, But You Appear to Be Sinking, which was a Believer Book Award finalist. She lives in Spokane, Washington, with her husband and two children.

Leyna Krow's website

This bio was last updated on 08/24/2022. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Leyna Krow discusses her debut novel, Fire Season, and how the location influenced the characters - and writing - of this book.

You live in the Pacific Northwest. How has this geography and culture influenced your writing? What most excites you about this region? How do you think this place shapes the characters in Fire Season, and did you do any special research to inform your writing?

Well, not to split hairs, but I actually live in the Inland Northwest. Spokane is on the eastern edge of Washington State. I did live on the west side, in Seattle, when I was in my twenties. But Spokane has been my home for the last decade, and it is a different culture and geography over here. Spokane is a great place to write about. It is unapologetically, unselfconsciously strange. Many of the weirdest details in Fire Season are true things that I found in my research and wanted to include in the story just because they were so delightful. But also, Spokane is kind of this underdog city that people either have never heard of or have a bad impression of. I like underdogs. I like this weird, friendly, earnest city. It feels like the sort of place where anything could happen, and that makes it an ideal setting for stories that are a little fantastical.

The characters in Fire Season are absolutely shaped by the setting. In the novel, Spokane Falls (which was the city's ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Leyna Krow at BookBrowse
Fire Season jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Leyna Krow but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Rachel Beanland

    Rachel Beanland

    Rachel Beanland is a graduate of the University of South Carolina and earned her MFA in creative writing from Virginia Commonwealth University. The author of the novel Florence Adler Swims Forever, she lives with her husband ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fire Season

    Try:
    The House Is on Fire
    by Rachel Beanland

  • Sandra Dallas

    Sandra Dallas

    Sandra Dallas, dubbed "a quintessential American voice" in Vogue magazine, is the author of over a dozen novels, including I>Prayers for Sale and Tallgrass, many translated into a dozen languages and optioned for films. Six-... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Fire Season

    Try:
    Where Coyotes Howl
    by Sandra Dallas

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.