Announcing our 2021 Award Winners and Top 20 Books of the Year

Alison MacLeod biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Alison MacLeod

Alison MacLeod

How to pronounce Alison MacLeod: Mac-loud

Alison MacLeod Biography

Alison MacLeod is the author of three novels – The Changeling, The Wave Theory of Angels and Unexploded, which was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2013 – and two story collections. She is the joint winner of the Eccles British Library Writer's Award 2016 and was a finalist for the 2017 Governor General's Award. She was Professor of Contemporary Fiction at the University of Chichester until 2018, when she became Visiting Professor to write full-time. She lives in Brighton.

Alison MacLeod's website

This bio was last updated on 10/29/2021. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Alison MacLeod discusses Tenderness, and how she saw the influence of Lady Chatterley's Lover in moving the twentieth century from war and censorship to sensuality and freedom.

Is there significance to the title, Tenderness?

In Lady Chatterley's Lover, the once controversial novel which sits at the heart of my novel, Lady Constance Chatterley says to her lover, the gamekeeper Mellors:

'Shall I tell you what you have that other men don't have, and that will make the future? Shall I tell you?'
'Tell me then, he replied.'
"It's the courage of your own tenderness…'

That unexpected word, 'courage', caught my eye. When, I wondered, is tenderness a courageous thing? During the legendary Old Bailey trial of 1960, a barrister called Richard Du Cann made quick notes in the defence team's court notebooks: 'Tenderness,' he wrote, adding asterisks, 'real tenderness.' I lingered over those three words as if they were a scribbled invocation. Tenderness was D.H. Lawrence's original title for Lady Chatterley, and tenderness was its defining spirit.

Could you say a little about the structure of Tenderness?

As a novel, it spans forty-five years, both world wars and the Cold War, but it's not chronological. Time and space in Tenderness are permeable to both memory and the imagination. There's a weaving of stories and histories, and an unravelling of them. Tenderness has what I think of as an organic structure,...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Alison MacLeod at BookBrowse
Tenderness jacket All the Beloved Ghosts jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Alison MacLeod but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Therese Anne Fowler

    Therese Anne Fowler

    Therese Anne Fowler is the third child and only daughter of a couple who raised their children in Milan, Illinois. An avowed tomboy as a child, Therese protested her grandmother's determined attempts to dress her in ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Tenderness

    Try:
    Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
    by Therese Anne Fowler

  • Robert Jones Jr.

    Robert Jones Jr.

    Robert Jones, Jr., was born and raised in New York City. He received his BFA in creative writing with honors and MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. He has written for numerous publications, including The New York Times, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Tenderness

    Try:
    The Prophets
    by Robert Jones Jr.

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Lightning Strike
    Lightning Strike
    by William Kent Krueger
    It is the summer of 1963 in Tamarack County, Minnesota. Just outside the small town of Aurora, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Forest of Vanishing Stars
    The Forest of Vanishing Stars
    by Kristin Harmel
    Kristin Harmel's historical novel The Forest of Vanishing Stars was very well-received by our First ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lincoln Highway
    The Lincoln Highway
    by Amor Towles
    Voted 2021 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Things look bleak for Emmett ...
  • Book Jacket: The Code Breaker
    The Code Breaker
    by Walter Isaacson
    Voted 2021 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    What makes humans human? It's ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    True Crime Story
    by Joseph Knox

    The #1 international bestselling novel. What happens to all the girls who go missing?

Win This Book!
Win Taste Makers

Taste Makers
by Mayukh Sen

America's modern culinary history told through the lives of seven pathbreaking chefs and food writers.

Enter

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.