Cho Nam-joo biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Author Image Not Available

Cho Nam-joo

How to pronounce Cho Nam-joo: cho NAM-joo. The vowel sound in "Nam" is similar to "am."

Cho Nam-joo Biography

Cho Nam-joo was born in 1978 in Seoul, South Korea. She graduated from the Department of Sociology of Ehwa Women's University, and was a television scriptwriter for nine years. Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982 is her third novel, and was based partly on her own experience as a woman who quit her job to stay at home after giving birth to a child. It has had a profound impact on gender inequality and discrimination in Korean society, and has been translated into 18 languages. Cho lives with her family in Seoul.



This bio was last updated on 04/22/2020. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Cho Nam-joo at BookBrowse
Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982 jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Cho Nam-joo but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Elisa Dusapin

    Elisa Dusapin

    Elisa Shua Dusapin was born in France in 1992 in Sarlat-la-Canéda, France, is a Franco-Korean writer currently living in Switzerland. She received her degree in 2011 in literature from l'Institut littéraire suisse ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982

    Try:
    Winter in Sokcho
    by Elisa Dusapin

  • Susanna Kaysen

    Susanna Kaysen

    Susanna Kaysen was born on 11 November, 1948, and raised in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Her father is the economist Carl Kaysen (b.1920), formerly a professor at MIT and advisor to President John F. Kennedy.  In 1967 ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982

    Try:
    Girl, Interrupted
    by Susanna Kaysen

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks


Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Migrations
by Charlotte McConaghy
A breathtaking page-turner and an ode to our threatened world.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Million Things
    by Emily Spurr

    "An impressively assured debut. A gem of a novel."
    —Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project

  • Book Jacket

    Blind Man's Bluff
    by James Tate Hill

    A writer's humorous and often-heartbreaking tale of losing his sight—and how he hid it from the world.

Win This Book!
Win A Most Clever Girl

A Most Clever Girl by Stephanie Marie Thornton

A thrilling novel of love and espionage, based on the incredible true story of a Cold War double agent.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Run T G

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.