MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Sofia Lundberg biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author

Sofia Lundberg

Sofia Lundberg

Sofia Lundberg Biography

Sofia Lundberg is a journalist and former magazine editor. The Red Address Book has been published in 33 territories worldwide.



This bio was last updated on 08/27/2019. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Interview

Sofia Lundberg discusses her first novel, The Red Address Book

Sofia Lundberg's Great AuntHave you always wanted to write?

Yes. For as long as I can remember. I grew up in a home without books and my parents weren't readers. Yet, I always felt so close to literature. I started to read before I began school. I loved the library and the bookstores. I used to sit and read on the floor until they threw me out. I remember reading writers like Dostoyevsky, Hemingway, Steinbeck, and Graham Greene when I was very young.


The Red Address Book was inspired by your great aunt's address book. But you did not begin writing the novel immediately after you found it. What prompted you to finally write this story?


My Doris—my great aunt was also named Doris—was my best friend growing up. She took care of me and she gave me so much love and attention. When she died, I found her address book hidden in a shelf in her hallway. She had crossed most of her friends' names out and had written the word 'dead' next to them. It broke my heart to realize how lonely she must have felt.

Her death was very painful for me, as we were so close. I couldn't stop thinking about it. Many years later, I came up with the idea to write a novel about this. It took a lot of thinking, and the thinking took time.

...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sofia Lundberg at BookBrowse
The Red Address Book jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.