BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Taylor Jenkins Reid Biography, Books, and Similar Authors

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Taylor Jenkins Reid

Taylor Jenkins Reid

Taylor Jenkins Reid Biography

Taylor Jenkins Reid is the author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, One True Loves, Maybe in Another Life, After I Do, Forever, Interrupted, and the New York Times bestseller Daisy Jones and the Six. Her novels have been Indie Next Picks, chosen by Book of the Month, and featured in People, US Weekly, Entertainment Weekly, Good Morning America, and more. She lives in Los Angeles.

Taylor Jenkins Reid's website

This bio was last updated on 05/14/2021. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Taylor Jenkins Reid offers a behind-the-scenes look at the writing process and inspiration for her 2019 novel, Daisy Jones & The Six.

How did you begin your career as a writer?

After I graduated college, I moved to Los Angeles and took a job in feature film casting. I enjoyed it, but I kept thinking there was something else I was supposed to be doing. I started writing small stories about things that had happened to me and sending them to my friends just for fun, but interesting things didn't happen to me every day, so to feed my urge to write, I decided to try fiction. I wrote a short story that ended up becoming a novella, and then used the novella to get a literary agent. Then finally I sat down with the intention of writing a full-length book, which became Forever, Interrupted, my debut novel.

How would you describe your new novel, Daisy Jones &The Six?

It's an oral history of the rise and fall of a fictional 70s rock band. I wanted to tell a story that took place against the backdrop of the whole "Southern California sound" scene of the 1970s. I imagined this band, Daisy Jones & The Six, and then told the story of how they were formed, their journey up the charts, and why they ultimately broke up so abruptly the night of July 12, 1979.

How did the idea for Daisy Jones &The Six originate?

I loved Fleetwood Mac, and was always ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Taylor Jenkins Reid at BookBrowse
Carrie Soto Is Back jacket Malibu Rising jacket Daisy Jones & The Six jacket Maybe in Another Life jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Taylor Jenkins Reid but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Rachel Hawkins

    Rachel Hawkins

    Rachel Hawkins was born in Virginia and raised in Alabama. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University, and is the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs and Reckless Girls, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Daisy Jones & The Six

    Try:
    The Villa
    by Rachel Hawkins

  • David Mitchell

    David Mitchell

    David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, Ghostwritten and The Bone Clocks. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Daisy Jones & The Six

    Try:
    Utopia Avenue
    by David Mitchell

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Blue Ruin
    Blue Ruin
    by Hari Kunzru
    Like Red Pill and White Tears, the first two novels in Hari Kunzru's loosely connected Three-...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.