MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Billy O'Callaghan biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Billy  O'Callaghan

Billy O'Callaghan

Billy O'Callaghan Biography

Billy O'Callaghan was born in Cork, Ireland, in 1974. His work includes three short story collections In Exile (2008); In Too Deep (2008); and The Things We Lose, the Things We Leave Behind (2013); and two novels: The Dead House (2017); and My Coney Island Baby (2019). A new short story collection, The Boatman, and Other Stories is scheduled for release with in 2020.

His literary honours include two Bursary Awards for Literature from the Arts Council of Ireland, two Literature Awards from the Cork County Council, a Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Award (in 2013), his work was selected as Cork's 'One City, One Book' for 2017, and his short story, The Boatman was a finalist for the Costa Short Story Award. He has won and been shortlisted for numerous other honours, including: the George A. Birmingham Award; the Lunch Hour Stories Prize; the Molly Keane Award; the Sean O'Faolain Award; the RTE Radio 1 Francis MacManus Award; the Faulkner/Wisdom Award; and the Glimmer Train Prize. He was also short-listed four times for the RTE Radio 1 P.J. O'Connor Award for Drama.

His short stories have appeared in more than 100 magazines and literary journals around the world, including: Absinthe: New European Writing, Agni, the Bellevue Literary Review, Bliza, the Chattahoochee Review, the Fiddlehead, Hayden's Ferry Review, the Kenyon Review, the Kyoto Journal, the Los Angeles Review, the London Magazine, Narrative Magazine, Ploughshares, Salamander, Southword, the Saturday Evening Post and the Southeast Review.

Billy O'Callaghan's website

This bio was last updated on 04/14/2019. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Billy O'Callaghan at BookBrowse
My Coney Island Baby jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Billy O'Callaghan but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Anne Enright

    Anne Enright

    Anne Enright was born in Dublin, where she now lives and works. She has published three volumes of stories, one book of nonfiction, and five novels. In 2015, she was named the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction. Her novel ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    My Coney Island Baby

    Try:
    The Forgotten Waltz
    by Anne Enright

  • Margot Livesey

    Margot Livesey

    Margot Livesey grew up in a boys’ private school in the Scottish Highlands where her father taught, and her mother, Eva, was the school nurse. After taking a B.A. in English and philosophy at the University of York ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    My Coney Island Baby

    Try:
    Banishing Verona
    by Margot Livesey

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Tokyo Ueno Station
    Tokyo Ueno Station
    by Yu Miri
    Kazu is a ghost, seemingly condemned to haunt one of Japan's busiest train stations, the grounds of ...
  • Book Jacket
    Delayed Rays of a Star
    by Amanda Lee Koe
    Amanda Lee Koe's Delayed Rays of a Star begins with a late-1920s photo of three women at a party in ...
  • Book Jacket: Sleepovers
    Sleepovers
    by Ashleigh Bryant Phillips
    In Ashleigh Bryant Phillips' debut story collection, Sleepovers, it can be difficult to keep tabs on...
  • Book Jacket
    The Beekeeper of Aleppo
    by Christy Lefteri
    In Christy Lefteri's sophomore novel, The Beekeeper of Aleppo, the author introduces readers to ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Voyage of the Morning Light
    by Marina Endicott

    A sweeping novel set aboard a merchant ship sailing through the South Pacific in 1912.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
by Christy Lefteri

This moving, intimate, and beautifully written novel puts human faces on the Syrian war.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win The Wedding Thief

The Wedding Thief
by Mary Simses

Funny, soulful, and as sweet as buttercream, The Wedding Thief is the perfect summer read.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S Louder T W

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.