Yuko Tsushima biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Yuko Tsushima

Yuko Tsushima

Yuko Tsushima Biography

Born in 1947 in the Tokyo suburb of Mitaka, Yūko Tsushima was one of the most accomplished Japanese novelists of her generation at the time of her death from lung cancer in 2016. The author remains lesser known outside of Japan, but with the recent translations of Territory of Light and Of Dogs and Walls, there has been a small wave of critical and popular interest in her work in the English-speaking world.

Tsushima's work can be divided into two periods. Her earlier novels and stories experiment with the conventions of "I-fiction," a dominant narrative style of Japanese prose. The genre features a meditative first-person voice, a focus on intimate bonds between characters, and an interest in blurring the line between fact and fiction. Tsushima's later works, by contrast, are more formally daring and explicitly political. They reckon with Japan's cultural memory of empire, war and dispossession, and they consider the influence of state power on the household.

The author started her literary career with early success. As an aspiring writer, she contributed to the private literary magazine Bungei shuto, a nationally respected publication. Her earliest novels, published in the 1970s, cemented her reputation as an author of serious fiction. She won several prestigious prizes, including the Izumi Kyoka Prize (1977), the Women's Literature Prize (1978), and the Noma Prize for New Writers (1979). The author's critical acclaim continues to build even after her death.

Tsushima's 17 novels share many aesthetic tendencies and themes. They often feature single mothers and other figures marginalized in Japanese society, and they deal with themes of abandonment, economic hardship and female autonomy. The novels close the gap between the personal and the political, examining topical issues in Japan through the lens of women's daily lives.

The author herself endured plenty of hardship. Her father Osamu Dazai, a famous Japanese writer, infamously committed suicide with a lover and fan when Tsushima was just a girl; his drowning forms the basis of "The Watery Realm," a recently translated story included in Of Dogs and Walls. Later in life, the author found herself forced to provide for her family as a single mother, and one of her own children tragically drowned at an early age.

Currently six translations of Tsushima's fiction have been published in English: Child of Fortune (1978), Territory of Light (1979), Woman Running in the Mountains (1980), The Shooting Gallery & Other Stories (1973-84), Laughing Wolf (2001) and Of Dogs and Walls (1982-2014). With the exception of Laughing Wolf, Geraldine Harcourt has translated each of the books.

While the author's work isn't as internationally prominent as that of some of her peers, like Haruki Murakami or Yōko Tawada, Yūko Tsushima's output is impressive in scope and daring in style. It's not hard to see why writers such as Margaret Drabble and Donald Richie have likened Tsushima to Virginia Woolf and Jean Rhys. Her fiction fully renders the inner lives of women while meditating on social conflict; Territory of Light makes a welcome addition to any collection of translated fiction.



This bio was last updated on 01/26/2019. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Yuko Tsushima at BookBrowse
Territory of Light jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Yuko Tsushima but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Killing Hills
    The Killing Hills
    by Chris Offutt
    The personified hills of the novel's title foreshadow the mood of this brooding and ominous tale. ...
  • Book Jacket: The Vixen
    The Vixen
    by Francine Prose
    Recent Harvard graduate Simon Putnam has been rejected from grad school and has thus returned to his...
  • Book Jacket: How the Word Is Passed
    How the Word Is Passed
    by Clint Smith
    With legislatures around the U.S. rushing to ban the teaching of critical race theory, it's clear ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Vape
    Big Vape
    by Jamie Ducharme
    In Big Vape, TIME reporter Jamie Ducharme studies the short but inflammatory history of Juul. Her ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The War Nurse
by Tracey Enerson Wood
A sweeping novel by an international bestselling author based on a true World War I story.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Temple House Vanishing
    by Rachel Donohue

    A modern gothic page-turner set in a Victorian mansion in Ireland.

  • Book Jacket

    The Forest of Vanishing Stars
    by Kristin Harmel

    An evocative coming-of-age World War II story from the author of The Book of Lost Names.

Win This Book!
Win Gordo

Gordo by Jaime Cortez

"Dark and hilarious ... singular and soaring ... Hands down, top debut of 2021."—Literary Hub

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

N Say N

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.