MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Deborah Carol Gang biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Deborah Carol Gang

Deborah Carol Gang

Deborah Carol Gang Biography

The short fiction of Deborah Carol Gang has been published in Literarymama, Bluestem Journal and The Driftless Review.

Her poetry has appeared in JJournal/CUNY, New Verse News, The Michigan Poet, Arsenic Lobster, and The Liberal Media Made Me Do It.

Her research as a clinical psychologist has been published in Education and Treatment of Children.

Originally from Washington, D.C., she moved to St. Paul to attend Macalester College and then to graduate school in Kalamazoo, Michigan (Western Michigan University), where she remained for her work as a psychotherapist and because of her love of the Great Lake one hour to the West.

Still living in Kalamazoo, she has a Midwestern accent and now writes full-time. The Half-Life of Everything is her first novel.

Deborah Carol Gang's website

This bio was last updated on 12/14/2018. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Deborah Carol Gang discusses her debut novel, The Half-Life of Everything, in which she takes on the challenging topics of Alzheimer's disease and polyamory.

This Q&A contains plot-spoilers


What was your inspiration for The Half-Life of Everything?

Some years ago, I heard a top-of-the-news-hour tidbit on NPR about the results of yet another research study for an Alzheimer's drug. This treatment sounded like it might actually be the one, and while I knew that wasn't likely, I did start to think: What if? What if there could be a treatment? What if people could come back?

Why did you want to write The Half-Life of Everything? What are some of the main ideas that you want readers to take away from this novel?

When I was a kid, I loved old movies about a husband or wife long thought dead (in that era, usually from a shipwreck) who returns to find their spouse has remarried. At first I just wanted to conjecture about what could happen if a person came back from a catastrophic illness of the mind. I didn't decide until fairly far into the novel what David would do. Or what any of them would do. When I started, I didn't realize what a key figure Kate would turn out to be. So I wrote partly outof curiosity to learn how this unlikely but interesting problem could be solved.

What was the hardest part about writing The Half-Life of Everything?

The hardest part was ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Deborah Carol Gang at BookBrowse
The Half-Life of Everything jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Deborah Carol Gang but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Delayed Rays of a Star
    by Amanda Lee Koe
    Amanda Lee Koe's Delayed Rays of a Star begins with a late-1920s photo of three women at a party in ...
  • Book Jacket: Sleepovers
    Sleepovers
    by Ashleigh Bryant Phillips
    In Ashleigh Bryant Phillips' debut story collection, Sleepovers, it can be difficult to keep tabs on...
  • Book Jacket
    The Beekeeper of Aleppo
    by Christy Lefteri
    In Christy Lefteri's sophomore novel, The Beekeeper of Aleppo, the author introduces readers to ...
  • Book Jacket
    Cantoras
    by Carolina De Robertis
    Cantoras by Carolina De Robertis follows five characters who share a house, troubles, joys and parts...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Voyage of the Morning Light
    by Marina Endicott

    A sweeping novel set aboard a merchant ship sailing through the South Pacific in 1912.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
by Christy Lefteri

This moving, intimate, and beautifully written novel puts human faces on the Syrian war.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Of Bears and Ballots

An Alaskan Adventure in Small-Town Politics

A charming account of holding local office with an entertaining, quirky cast of characters.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S Louder T W

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.