Judith Newman biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Judith Newman
Photo: Henry Snowdon

Judith Newman

Judith Newman Biography

Judith Newman was born in New York on March 28, 1961. She received a bachelor's degree from Wesleyan University, and a Master of Arts degree in English and Comparative Literature from Columbia University.

Newman writes about entertainment, relationships, parenthood, business, beauty, books, science, and popular culture. She is a regular contributor for The New York Times Style Section and People, and is a contributing editor to Allure and Prevention. She has written for Vanity Fair, Harper's Bazaar, The Wall Street Journal, Vogue, Redbook, GQ, Marie Claire, and Cosmo. She and her sons live in Manhattan.



This bio was last updated on 11/01/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Judith Newman discusses the bond between her autistic son and Siri

Did you think that your Times piece would strike such a chord?
I had no idea. I'm always shocked when someone reads anything I've written that's more than a blurb on Facebook. But you forget how many people are affected by autism. It's not just having a kid on the spectrum but relatives and friends are affected, too.

A book about your family is so deeply personal.
Writing a book about your family when your kids are older is a dicey prospect. That aside, writing about your family seems both incredibly self-indulgent and incredibly risky at the same time. I'm always surprised when people say 'you're so brave.' What is your choice? If you're writing about your life, what are you going to do but be truthful?

In one chapter, you write candidly about guilt and blame. Was that difficult?
Like every single mother, when you have a child with an issue, you think 'what happened,' 'what did I do.' Autism is such mystery and I believe it's a cocktail of genetics plus environment, but I don't beat myself up about it anymore. The answer is probably a combination of things—I had a child with a man much older than me, I had IVF, I was older, I had a terrible ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Judith Newman at BookBrowse
To Siri with Love jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Judith Newman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Dana Buchman

    Dana Buchman

    Dana Buchman's eponymous line of women's fashion is one of the most widely distributed designer labels in the country, appearing in every major department store. Buchman lives in New York City with her husband, Tom Farber, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    To Siri with Love

    Try:
    A Special Education
    by Dana Buchman

  • Dawn Davies

    Dawn Davies

    Dawn Davies has a BA from Vermont College of Fine Arts and an MFA from Florida International University. She is the recipient of a Pushcart Special Mention, and her work has been published in numerous journals and ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    To Siri with Love

    Try:
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Let It Bang
    Let It Bang
    by RJ Young
    Every interracial love story is an exercise in complications. R.J. Young and Lizzie Stafford's ...
  • Book Jacket: A Spark of Light
    A Spark of Light
    by Jodi Picoult
    The central premise of A Spark of Light involves a gunman holding hostages within the confines of a ...
  • Book Jacket: An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    An Absolutely Remarkable Thing
    by Hank Green
    As one half of the extremely popular YouTube duo "Vlogbrothers" (the other half being his brother ...
  • Book Jacket: Waiting for Eden
    Waiting for Eden
    by Elliot Ackerman
    Elliot Ackerman's latest novel, Waiting for Eden, follows Marine Eden Malcom as his death ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Unsheltered
by Barbara Kingsolver

A timely novel that explores the human capacity for resiliency and compassion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Kinship of Secrets
    by Eugenia Kim

    Two sisters grow up bound by family but separated by war; inspired by a true story.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Paris Echo
    by Sebastian Faulks

    A story of resistance, complicity, and an unlikely, transformative friendship.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

More Anagrams

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I Ain't O U T F L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.