MLA Gold Award Site

Anne McCaffrey biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Anne McCaffrey

Anne McCaffrey

How to pronounce Anne McCaffrey: muh-KAF-free

Anne McCaffrey Biography

Anne McCaffrey was born in 1926, in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She graduated cum laude from Radcliffe College, majoring in Slavonic Languages and Literatures.

She spent some years on the stage as a character actress, appearing in the first successful summer music circus in Lambertsville, NJ. She also worked for Liberty Music Shops and Helena Rubinstein, until the birth of Alec Anthony, the first of her three children, in 1952.

McCaffrey's first story was published by Sam Moskowitz in Science Fiction + Magazine. She wrote her first novel, Restoree, published by Ballantine Books in 1967, as a protest against the unrealistic portrayals of women in s-f novels in the 50s and early 60s. She has written a wide range of s-f novels but is best known for her books set on the world of Pern, which began with Dragonflight (1968). In total, she wrote almost 100 books; coauthoring her later books with her son, Todd.

In her final years, arthritis restricted her travel so she spent most of her time in the house she designed, Dragonhold-Underhill (because she had to dig out a hill on her farm to build it) in Wicklow County, Ireland where she ran a private livery stable.

She died, aged 85, on November 21, 2011 following a stroke. She is survived by her two sons and a daughter.

Link to Anne's website

This biography was last updated on 11/23/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Anne McCaffrey at BookBrowse
Dragon Harper jacket The Masterharper of Pern jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Anne McCaffrey but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Diana Wynne Jones

    Diana Wynne Jones

    Diana Wynne Jones was born in August 1934 in London, where she had a chaotic and unsettled childhood against the background of World War II. The family moved around a lot, finally settling in rural Essex. As children, Diana... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Masterharper of Pern

    Try:
    The Merlin Conspiracy
    by Diana Wynne Jones

  • Christopher Paolini

    Christopher Paolini

    Christopher Paolini was born on November 17, 1983 in Southern California, and was raised (and still lives) in the Paradise Valley area of Montana. He was home-schooled by his parents, Kenneth Paolini and Talita Hodgkinson, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Masterharper of Pern

    Try:
    Eragon
    by Christopher Paolini

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: If I Was Your Girl
    If I Was Your Girl
    by Meredith Russo
    Who defines us? Do we ourselves, or does the society in which we live? Meredith Russo's ...
  • Book Jacket: If I Was Your Girl
    If I Was Your Girl
    by Meredith Russo
    Who defines us? Do we ourselves, or does the society in which we live? Meredith Russo's ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Lost Child
    by Caryl Phillips
    The Lost Child is a modern novel constructed within a historical frame, invoking one of the most ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    If I Forget You
    by Thomas Christopher Greene

    A haunting tale of lost love from the critically acclaimed author of The Headmaster's Wife.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Sweet Caress
by William Boyd

William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Charmers

The Charmers by Elizabeth Adler

"This tale of romantic suspense makes the perfect beach read."
—Library Journal

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

C To T Q

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.