Anne McCaffrey biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Anne McCaffrey

Anne McCaffrey

How to pronounce Anne McCaffrey: muh-KAF-free

Anne McCaffrey Biography

Anne McCaffrey was born in 1926, in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She graduated cum laude from Radcliffe College, majoring in Slavonic Languages and Literatures.

She spent some years on the stage as a character actress, appearing in the first successful summer music circus in Lambertsville, NJ. She also worked for Liberty Music Shops and Helena Rubinstein, until the birth of Alec Anthony, the first of her three children, in 1952.

McCaffrey's first story was published by Sam Moskowitz in Science Fiction + Magazine. She wrote her first novel, Restoree, published by Ballantine Books in 1967, as a protest against the unrealistic portrayals of women in s-f novels in the 50s and early 60s. She has written a wide range of s-f novels but is best known for her books set on the world of Pern, which began with Dragonflight (1968). In total, she wrote almost 100 books; coauthoring her later books with her son, Todd.

In her final years, arthritis restricted her travel so she spent most of her time in the house she designed, Dragonhold-Underhill (because she had to dig out a hill on her farm to build it) in Wicklow County, Ireland where she ran a private livery stable.

She died, aged 85, on November 21, 2011 following a stroke. She is survived by her two sons and a daughter.

Anne McCaffrey's website

This bio was last updated on 11/23/2011. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Anne McCaffrey at BookBrowse
Dragon Harper jacket The Masterharper of Pern jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Anne McCaffrey but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Diana Wynne Jones

    Diana Wynne Jones

    Diana Wynne Jones was born in August 1934 in London, where she had a chaotic and unsettled childhood against the background of World War II. The family moved around a lot, finally settling in rural Essex. As children, Diana... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Masterharper of Pern

    Try:
    The Merlin Conspiracy
    by Diana Wynne Jones

  • Christopher Paolini

    Christopher Paolini

    Christopher Paolini was born on November 17, 1983 in Southern California, and was raised (and still lives) in the Paradise Valley area of Montana. He was home-schooled by his parents, Kenneth Paolini and Talita Hodgkinson, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Masterharper of Pern

    Try:
    Eragon
    by Christopher Paolini

We recommend 2 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

Experience is not what happens to you; it's what you do with what happens to you

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.