Eli Gottlieb biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Eli Gottlieb

Eli Gottlieb

Eli Gottlieb Biography

Born in Manhattan and raised in New Jersey, Eli Gottlieb has worked as a Senior Editor of Elle Magazine and taught American Literature as a Lecturer at the University of Padova, Italy. He is the author of Best Boy, among other novels. His works have won him the Rome Prize and the Mckitterick Prize of the British Society of Authors and have been published in 14 countries. He lives in New York City.

Eli Gottlieb's website

This bio was last updated on 08/14/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Eli Gottleib discusses how a series of personal tragedies led him to search for a deeper understanding of his autistic sibling and thus inspired his novel Best Boy

Why did you write the book?

Over the course of writing my last novel, both my parents died, my marriage broke up and I became my brother's guardian. That kind of loss tends to focus the faculties pretty drastically, to paraphrase Samuel Johnson, and in this case it led me to concentrate hard on the one family member I had left. I've always been interested in liminal states, and things beyond the edge of obvious speech. Trying to "locate" an autistic perspective in language was one of those.

What's it like growing up the sibling of a child with autism? We tend to focus on parents and on the afflicted children themselves. But what about siblings?

To grow up the sibling of an autistic means to grow up partly invisible. The same is true of being the sibling of any child who's developmentally disabled. The mother and disabled child tend to bond deeply, and everyone else gets relegated to the suburbs of the family, emotionally. Resources and attention flow to the sick child and the pressure causes a high percentage of marriages to explode. As a sibling, it takes work to navigate your own resentment at those years spent living in the shadows.

In your first book you write about every parent's ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Eli Gottlieb at BookBrowse
Best Boy jacket The Face Thief jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Eli Gottlieb but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Paolo Giordano

    Paolo Giordano

    Paolo Giordano was born in Turin Italy. His debut novel The Solitude of Prime Numbers sold over a million copies and was translated in 30 languages. He is also the youngest winner of Italy's prestigious literary award ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Best Boy

    Try:
    The Solitude of Prime Numbers
    by Paolo Giordano

  • Matt Greene

    Matt Greene

    Matt Greene was born in Watford, England, in 1985 and studied English at the University of Sussex, where he edited The Badger newspaper. He is the co-author of four plays, including the Edinburgh Fringe sellout farce The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Best Boy

    Try:
    Ostrich
    by Matt Greene

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Small Fry
    Small Fry
    by Lisa Brennan-Jobs
    Small Fry is the debut memoir from Lisa Brennan-Jobs, long-time journalist and writer, and oldest ...
  • Book Jacket: The Winter Soldier
    The Winter Soldier
    by Daniel Mason
    Imagine the thousands of confounding cases doctors face routinely for which diagnoses are hard to ...
  • Book Jacket: Brother
    Brother
    by David Chariandy
    Brother is the brief, moving account of how a single, tragic moment in time can alter the course of ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott

A crowning achievement of one of the finest American writers at work today.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    French Exit
    by Patrick deWitt

    A brilliant and darkly comic novel from bestselling author Patrick deWitt.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Clockmaker's Daughter

The Clockmaker's Daughter by Kate Morton

A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House. On sale Oct 9.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T Turn T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.