Stuart Archer Cohen biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Stuart Archer Cohen
Photo: Clay Good

Stuart Archer Cohen

Stuart Archer Cohen Biography

Stuart Archer Cohen was born in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1958. After graduating from high school he spent a year hitchhiking around the United States, hopping freight trains and traveling with a circus as a prop man, then attended Johns Hopkins University and Columbia University, where he won the Bennett Cerf Prize for fiction. He failed racquetball his senior year and moved to Alaska without receiving his diploma in 1981.

In 1983 Cohen self-published Naughty Logs, a pornographic satire about the logging industry in Southeast Alaska. Cohen sold the book from a booth on the street during the summer of that year, "The government was subsidizing multinational corporations $40,000,000 a year to clear cut ancient forests. I thought: that's pornographic. Naughty Logs was my way of bringing some attention to the issue."

Cohen began traveling to South America in 1984 and began an import company. On a trip to Inner Mongolia in 1992 he began writing a short story about going to Inner Mongolia in the dead of winter, which became Invisible World (Reganbooks, 1998) a novel translated into six languages. Much of the book was written in hotel rooms in China and South America, and is about antique textiles, smuggling, and the invisible world of the imagination.

On the publication of Invisible World, encouraged by two-book contracts in the United States and Germany, Cohen closed his store to devote himself to writing. He spent three years writing his second novel, The Book of Rumor.

Cohen went to Buenos Aires to research petty criminals and corrupt police, and wrote 17 Stone Angels, (Orion, 2003) about a corrupt police chief in Buenos Aires who is assigned to investigate a murder he committed. The book was translated into 8 languages and optioned by Paramount Studios.

In 2008, Cohen published The Army of the Republic (St. Martin's Press), a novel about insurgency set in the United States. Cohen drew on his extensive knowledge of Argentine guerilla groups as background. The book was optioned for film by Oliver Stone.

After that, Cohen wrote a children's book about dinosaurs on a crime spree, then began the writing his fifth novel, This Is How It Really Sounds, published by St. Martin's Press in April 2015.

Doing business in Suzhou, Cohen became fascinated with the philosophy and aesthetics of Chinese water gardens, which figure in two of his novels. Other influences include the Confucian and Taoist philosophers, Confucius, Mencius and Lao Tzu.

Cohen is a long-time martial artist. He has studied Tang Soo Do for over thirty years and has a 4th Dan ranking. He continues to teach and train. He is also an avid snowboarder, a theme with comes to the fore in his latest novel.

Cohen continues to import alpaca silk and cashmere from South America and Asia through his business, Invisible World. He is bilingual (Spanish) and has extensive knowledge of South American and Chinese history and culture. In recognition of his years as a martial arts instructor, Columbia University finally granted him his Bachelor of Arts with the class of 2013. He was the only class member to have two teenage children.

Stuart Archer Cohen's website

This bio was last updated on 05/11/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Stuart Archer Cohen at BookBrowse
This Is How It Really Sounds jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Stuart Archer Cohen but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jill Bialosky

    Jill Bialosky

    Jill Bialosky is the author of four poetry collections: The Players; The End of Desire; Subterranean, a finalist for the James Laughlin Award from the Academy of American Poets; and Intruder, a finalist for the 2009 ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    This Is How It Really Sounds

    Try:
    The Prize
    by Jill Bialosky

  • Nickolas Butler

    Nickolas Butler

    Nickolas Butler was born in Allentown, Pennsylvania, raised in Eau Claire, Wisconsin and educated at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the University of Iowa Writer's Workshop. He is the author of the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    This Is How It Really Sounds

    Try:
    Shotgun Lovesongs
    by Nickolas Butler

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Winter Soldier
    The Winter Soldier
    by Daniel Mason
    Imagine the thousands of confounding cases doctors face routinely for which diagnoses are hard to ...
  • Book Jacket: Brother
    Brother
    by David Chariandy
    Brother is the brief, moving account of how a single, tragic moment in time can alter the course of ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Spy of Venice
    The Spy of Venice
    by Benet Brandreth
    Benet Brandreth's delightfully diverting historical thriller brings the Bard to vibrant life. ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Removes by Tatjana Soli

A powerful, transporting novel about the addictive intensity and freedom of the American frontier.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Sold on a Monday
    by Kristina McMorris

    An unforgettable novel inspired by a stunning piece of history.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Clockmaker's Daughter

The Clockmaker's Daughter by Kate Morton

A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House. On sale Oct 9.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T Turn T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.