Francine Mathews biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Francine Mathews

Francine Mathews

Francine Mathews Biography

Francine Mathews has worked as a journalist and as an intelligence analyst for the CIA. Under the name Stephanie Barron, she is the author of the bestselling Jane Austen nine-book mystery series, including Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrave Manor and Jane and the Man of the Cloth. She also has written acclaimed standalone novels, including the thriller The Alibi Club, which was selected as one of Publisher Weekly's best novels of the year, A Flaw in the Blood, Jack 1939 and more than twenty other novels of mystery, history, and suspense. A graduate of Princeton and Stanford, she presently lives and works in Colorado.

Francine Mathews's website

This bio was last updated on 04/16/2015. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Francine Matthews writes about Ian Fleming's role in British war intelligence and the basis for her novel Too Bad To Die.

I shouldn't blame Ian Fleming for my years in the CIA—probably John le Carré is responsible for those—but it's true that Fleming's character, James Bond, casts a long shadow over every woman who wants to be a spy. Bond Girls are so glamorous, and they die so horribly, tripping on their high heels with a gasp of "James!" as a sniper fires. My own training was more practical: dead drops, agent handling, escape and evasion, explosives—but I was allowed to carry a lipstick that perfectly matched my field camouflage.

I remembered all that as I invented the character of Siranoush in Too Bad to Die: a Bond Girl with a vengeance, running circles around Ian Fleming. I love to write fiction based on the secret battles of World War II, and Fleming is behind any number of them. I ran into Fleming so often, in fact, that I began to wonder how much of his story was truth, and how much fiction.

I learned that the man friends referred to jokingly as a "chocolate sailor," because he looked too good to be true in his reserve naval uniform, found a home and a calling amid the white lies of war. Fleming had grown up in the embrace of the British aristocracy: educated at Eton and Sandhurst, the scion of a ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Francine Mathews at BookBrowse
Too Bad to Die jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Francine Mathews but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • John Altman

    John Altman

    John Altman is a musician and freelance writer living in New York City. A graduate of Harvard, he comes from an extended family of writers, including the novelists Karen Bender, Aimee Bender, and Robert Anthony Siegel.

    In... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Too Bad to Die

    Try:
    A Gathering of Spies
    by John Altman

  • Esther Freud

    Esther Freud

    Esther Freud trained as an actress before writing her first novel Hideous Kinky, published in 1992.Hideous Kinky was shortlisted for the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and made into a film starring Kate Winslet. In 1993 Esther was... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Too Bad to Die

    Try:
    Mr. Mac and Me
    by Esther Freud

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Kochland
    Kochland
    by Christopher Leonard
    Many Americans first heard of Koch Industries (or "the Koch Brothers") during the 2016 presidential ...
  • Book Jacket: Everything Inside
    Everything Inside
    by Edwidge Danticat
    Edwidge Danticat is a Haitian-American writer, and Haiti looms large as a presence in this ...
  • Book Jacket: The Beekeeper of Aleppo
    The Beekeeper of Aleppo
    by Christy Lefteri
    In Christy Lefteri's sophomore novel, The Beekeeper of Aleppo, the author introduces readers to ...
  • Book Jacket: Marilou Is Everywhere
    Marilou Is Everywhere
    by Sarah Elaine Smith
    "The point is that at that moment in my life," writes the narrator of Sarah Elaine Smith's debut ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Secrets We Kept
    by Lara Prescott

    Reese Witherspoon's Sept Book Club Pick!
    "This is the rare page-turner with prose that’s as wily as its plot."—EW
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
by Kim Michele Richardson

A story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Chase Darkness with Me

How One True-Crime Writer Started Solving Murders

Have you ever wanted to solve a murder? Gather the clues the police overlooked? Put together the pieces? Identify the suspect?

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

S S A C A Big S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.