Daniel Levine biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Daniel Levine
Photo: E.P. Hopper

Daniel Levine

Daniel Levine Biography

Daniel Levine studied English Literature and Creative Writing at Brown University and received his MFA in Fiction Writing from the University of Florida. He has taught composition and creative writing at high schools and universities, including the University of Florida, Montclair State University, and Metropolitan State College of Denver. Originally from New Jersey, he now lives in Colorado.

Daniel Levine's website

This bio was last updated on 03/18/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Daniel Levine explains why the classic story of Jekyll and Hyde is about more than just good and evil.

What inspired you to write Hyde?
I awoke one morning, staring at my hand which lay on the mattress before my face. Suddenly I was reminded of the scene in Stevenson's Jekyll and Hyde when Hyde awakes unexpectedly in Jekyll's bed, having transformed overnight without the aid of the magical potion. And like a flash I had it—a new idea. I would tell the story of Jekyll and Hyde from Hyde's perspective.

What is your relationship with Robert Louis Stevenson's The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde?
I had read Jekyll and Hyde in 10th grade English class. My teacher had divided us into small groups and assigned each group a portion of the novella to "present" to the class. My two friends and I decided to make a video (back in the days of VHS camcorders). I played Hyde with terrific flair, sneering and cowering and bucking about in the agonizing throes of transformation. Something in the character obviously appealed to me even then: his misanthropy, his furtive manner, the touch of wretchedness that attends him. To play him, even in a silly video, is to realize that he's not pure evil; he's a man, a possibly misunderstood one, whom everyone unreasonably hates.

What interested you about Hyde&...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Daniel Levine at BookBrowse
Hyde jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Daniel Levine but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Oscar de Muriel

    Oscar de Muriel

    Oscar de Muriel was born in Mexico City in 1983. He moved to England to complete his PhD in Chemistry; he is a violinist, translator, chemist, and writer who currently lives in Lancashire. The Strings of Murder is his first ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hyde

    Try:
    The Strings of Murder
    by Oscar de Muriel

  • Jonathan Franzen

    Jonathan Franzen

    Jonathan Franzen was born in Western Springs, Illinois, in 1959, and grew up in Webster Groves, Missouri, a suburb of St. Louis. After graduating from Swarthmore College in 1981 he studied at the Freie Universität in ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hyde

    Try:
    Freedom
    by Jonathan Franzen

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Rules of Magic
    The Rules of Magic
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's Rules of Magic is the long-awaited prequel to one of her most cherished novels,...
  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

"A powerful, provocative debut ... Intelligent, honest, and unsentimental." - Kirkus, starred review

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Seven Days of Us
    by Francesca Hornak

    A warm, wry debut novel about a family forced to spend a week together over the holidays.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.