Margot L. Stedman biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Margot L. Stedman
Photo: Annette Porter

Margot L. Stedman

How to pronounce Margot L. Stedman: MAR-go STED-man

Margot L. Stedman Biography

M. (Margot) L. Stedman was born and raised in Western Australia, and now lives in London. The Light Between Oceans is her first novel.

Margot Stedman's website

This bio was last updated on 06/11/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

M.L. Stedman answers questions about her first novel, The Light Between Oceans, a captivating novel that opens on a lighthouse in 1918 Australia.

Reproduced from RealSimple.com:

The Light Between Oceans' M.L. Stedman Answers Your Questions: Spoiler Alert!

Hello, Bookies:

Anyone who has already read The Light Between Oceans knows that it takes some twists and turns. But for those who might stumble across this blog post without having first read the book, its author, M.L. Stedman, cautions: "NB: Major spoiler alert! If you plan to read the book, I strongly suggest you read no further until you've finished it." And, in fact, Ms. Stedman reveals a lot about her highly regarded debut novel. Our sincere thanks to her for sending along her insightful answers. (Note: I've left all of Ms. Stedman's punctuation as is, true to the English-Australian publishing tradition.)


From reader Rosemary Wolfe: The lighthouse offered a twist that has me wondering - if they could have stayed on the island without ever going back to the mainland, would their isolation have allowed them to maintain the secret forever. Do we only do the right thing when someone is looking? Wonder if the author had that in mind when writing…

This is a great question, Rosemary. I suppose what struck me was...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Margot L. Stedman at BookBrowse
The Light Between Oceans jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Margot L. Stedman but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Michael Crummey

    Michael Crummey

    Michael Crummey was born in Buchans, a mining town in the interior of Newfoundland ("as far from the salt water as you can get and still be in Newfoundland"), second of four boys; he grew up there and in Wabush, another ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Light Between Oceans

    Try:
    Sweetland
    by Michael Crummey

  • Goldie Goldbloom

    Goldie Goldbloom

    Goldie Goldbloom's was born in Western Australia but currently lives in Illinois where she has worked as a teacher in both high school and elementary school, and as a librarian. Her fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Light Between Oceans

    Try:
    The Paperbark Shoe
    by Goldie Goldbloom

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Calypso
    Calypso
    by David Sedaris
    David Sedaris' Calypso is every bit as hilarious and irreverent, as clever and incisive, as ...
  • Book Jacket: The Word Is Murder
    The Word Is Murder
    by Anthony Horowitz
    A wealthy widow enters a London funeral home to make arrangements for her own funeral. Six hours ...
  • Book Jacket: Call Me American
    Call Me American
    by Abdi Nor Iftin
    As a boy growing up in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, Abdi Nor Iftin loved watching action ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Salt Houses by Hala Alyan

From a dazzling new literary voice, a debut novel about a Palestinian family caught between present and past.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Place for Us
    by Fatima Farheen Mirza

    A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If You See Me, Don't Say Hi

If You See Me, Don't Say Hi by Neel Patel

Patel's stories introduce a bold and timely new literary voice.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A P Saved I A P E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.