MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya
Photo: Malolm Moore

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

How to pronounce Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya: Joy-Deep Roy Bhutt-aah-chaar-ya

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya Biography

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya is the author of The Gabriel Club, which was selected as one of the 10 Best Novels of 2000 by Publishing News. Set in Central Europe, it was selected for the Grand Jury Award at the Budapest Book Fair and shortlisted for India's prestigious Crossword Prize. Roy-Bhattacharya is working on a trilogy of novels: The Storyteller of Marrakech (2011), The Jamil Baghdad Cafe (2013), and The Day After Tehran (2015), and is the author of The Watch (2012).

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya was born in India and educated in politics and philosophy at Calcutta University and the University of Pennsylvania. His novels, The Gabriel Club and The Storyteller of Marrakesh, have been published in 11 languages in 16 countries.

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya's website

This bio was last updated on 05/31/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Interview

In a letter to readers, Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya compares his novel, The Watch, to Sophocles' classic Greek tragedy Antigone, and considers how war has changed (and stayed the same) over the centuries.

In a letter to readers, Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya compares his novel, The Watch, to Sophocles' classic Greek tragedy Antigone, and considers how war has changed (and stayed the same) over the centuries.

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya on The Watch

The decade-long war in Afghanistan is America's longest war, Britain's most expensive war since World War II, and NATO's first major war outside Europe.

In terms of casualties, the U.S. and U.K. apart, the Afghan theater has seen Canada's highest combat casualties since the Korean War; Australia's highest combat casualties since Vietnam; France's highest combat casualties since Algeria; the highest combat casualties for Germany, Italy, Denmark, Norway, and Sweden since World War II; the highest combat casualties for the Netherlands since the Dutch withdrew from Indonesia in 1949; the highest combat fatalities for Spain since the Ifni War in Morocco in 1958; and the highest combat casualties for Poland in a foreign war since World War II. As for Afghan civilian and military casualties, we have no definite numbers.

When I set out to write The Watch, I wanted to give voice to the statistics, especially those counted as collateral damage in our foreign wars of choice. I decided ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya at BookBrowse
The Watch jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Brian Castner

    Brian Castner

    Brian Castner is a former Explosive Ordnance Disposal officer who received a Bronze Star for his service in the Iraq War. He is the author of two books, The Long Walk (2012) and All the Ways We Kill and Die (... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Watch

    Try:
    The Long Walk
    by Brian Castner

  • Matt Gallagher

    Matt Gallagher

    Matt Gallagher is a former US Army captain and the author of the acclaimed Iraq War memoir Kaboom, based on the popular and controversial blog he kept while he was deployed. He holds an MFA in fiction from Columbia and has ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Watch

    Try:
    Youngblood
    by Matt Gallagher

We recommend 8 similar authors

View all 8 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.