MLA Gold Award Site

Dave Eggers biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dave Eggers

Dave Eggers

Dave Eggers Biography

Dave Eggers was born in Boston, Massachusetts, grew up in suburban Lake Forest and attended the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is married to the writer Vendela Vida (author of Girls on the Verge, And Now You Can Go, and Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name).  They live in San Francisco with their daughter, October Adelaide Eggers Vida, born in October 2005.

Eggers began writing as a Salon.com editor and founded Might magazine, while also writing a comic strip called Smarter Feller (originally Swell, then Smart Feller) for SF Weekly. His first book was a memoir (with fictional elements), A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (2000). It focuses on the author's struggle to raise his younger brother in San Francisco following the sudden deaths of their parents. The book quickly became a bestseller and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction.

Egger's sister, Beth, a lawyer in Modesto, California, claimed that Eggers grossly understated her role in raising their brother Toph and made use of her journals in writing A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius without compensating her, but later withdraw her claims.  She committed suicide in 2002.

In 2002, Eggers published his first novel, You Shall Know Our Velocity, a story about a frustrating attempt to give away money to deserving people while haphazardly traveling the globe. An expanded and revised version was released as Sacrament in 2003 and retitled You Shall Know Our Velocity for its Vintage imprint distribution.  He has edited many anthologies (mostly the Best American Nonrequired Reading series, an annual anthology of short stories, essays, journalism, satire, and alternative comics that first published in 2002) and in 2006 published his second novel, What Is the What: The Autobiography of Valentino Achak Deng, which was a finalist for the 2006 National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction.

He is the founder of McSweeney's, an independent publishing house that publishes a number of books and literary journals including McSweeney's Quarterly (since 1998), a monthly journal, The Believer, since 2003 which is edited by Vendela Vida; and a quarterly DVD magazine, Wholphin, since 2005.

Eggers currently teaches writing in San Francisco at 826 Valencia, a nonprofit tutoring center and writing school for children that he cofounded with Vendela Vida in 2002. They have recruited volunteers to operate similar programs in Los Angeles, New York City, Seattle, Chicago, and Ann Arbor, Michigan, all under the auspices of the nonprofit organization 826 National.

In September 2007, the Heinz Foundations awarded Eggers a $250,000 Heinz award given to recognize "extraordinary achievements by individuals". The award will be used to fund some of the 826 Valencia writing centers.  In 2008 he was the recipient of a TED Prize. 


Bibligraphy

Nonfiction

  • A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (2000)
  • Teachers Have It Easy: The Big Sacrifices and Small Salaries of America's Teachers (co-authored with Daniel Moulthrop and Nínive Clements Calegari) (2005)
  • Surviving Justice: America's Wrongfully Convicted and Exonerated (co-compiled with Lola Vollen; with an introduction by Scott Turow) (2005)
  • Zeitoun (2009)

  •  

Fiction

  • You Shall Know Our Velocity (novel, 2002)
  • Sacrament (novel, revised and expanded version of You Shall Know Our Velocity (2003)
  • The Unforbidden is Compulsory; or, Optimism (story, 2004)
  • How We Are Hungry (short stories, 2004)
  • Short Short Stories (short stories, (2005)
  • What Is the What: The Autobiography of Valentino Achak Deng (novel, 2006)
  • How the Water Feels to the Fishes (short stories; part of One Hundred and Forty-Five Stories in a Small Box, 2007)
  • The Wild Things (working title) - a novel inspired by Where the Wild Things Are, to be released alongside the film, 2009)

     

Anthologies edited

  • The Best American Nonrequired Reading (annual volume publishing most years since 2002)
  • The Burned Children of America (2003, with Zadie Smith)
  • McSweeney's Mammoth Treasury of Thrilling Tales: Comics Issue (2004. with Chris Ware)
  • Best of McSweeney's Volume 1 (2004) and Volume 2 (2005)
  • Created in Darkness By Troubled Americans: The Best of Mcsweeney's, Humor Category: 1998-2003 (2004)
  • The Small Box of Short Stories (2007, with Sarah Manguso and Deb Olin Unferth)

Link to Dave's website

This biography was last updated on 08/11/2011.

A note about the biographies
We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dave Eggers at BookBrowse
Heroes of the Frontier jacket The Circle jacket Zeitoun jacket A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dave Eggers but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 18 similar authors

View all 18 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Lost Child
    by Caryl Phillips
    The Lost Child is a modern novel constructed within a historical frame, invoking one of the most ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket
    Bad Country
    by CB McKenzie
    If author CB McKenzie's decidedly noir debut novel Bad Country were chocolate, it would be at ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Since She Went Away
    by David Bell

    A chilling novel of guilt, regret, and a past which refuses to die...

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Sweet Caress
by William Boyd

William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Charmers

The Charmers by Elizabeth Adler

"This tale of romantic suspense makes the perfect beach read."
—Library Journal

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

C To T Q

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.