Helen Dunmore biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Helen Dunmore

Helen Dunmore

Helen Dunmore Biography

Helen Dunmore was born in Yorkshire, England in 1952. In a career spanning three decades she published fifteen novels, three short story collections, prize-winning children's fiction and twelve collections of poetry. Her final novel, Birdcage Walk, was published in 2017, as was her last poetry collection, Inside the Wave. Dunmore died on June 5, 2017, aged 64.

Of her many novels, most are works of historical fiction, ranging in time and setting from ancient Rome in Counting the Stars (2008) to the Cold War world of espionage in Exposure (2016). Her debut, Zennor in Darkness (1993) was set in World War I. Twentieth century conflicts, and their effects on individuals and families are subjects she returned to frequently. Many of her books also center on themes of secrecy and fragmented families, of lost children or of lost innocence; this last a key focus of A Spell of Winter which won the Orange Prize for fiction in 1996.

Dunmore had become particularly known in recent years for her portrayal of stories of ordinary men and women during the World Wars. The Siege (2001) is set in Leningrad before and during the Russian city was besieged by German forces during World War II. It tells the intimate story of one family's experience of an event that killed six hundred thousand people. Described by the New York Times book review as "elegantly, starkly beautiful," the book was shortlisted for both the Orange and Whitbread prizes. The Betrayal (2010) returned to the characters in The Siege, ten years on, in 1952. In The Greatcoat (2013), Dunmore created a compelling post World War II ghost story where a woman living in a remote Yorkshire village finds a greatcoat belonging to an RAF pilot and then begins an illicit affair with the coat's owner who appears at her window one night. And in The Lie (2014), Daniel, a soldier, returns from World War I, as 'one of the lucky ones' - a survivor – but what Dunmore calls "the long shadows of war" beset him as he tries to establish a life and future in Cornwall.

In 2010, writing in The Guardian, Sarah Crown said of Dunmore's novels: "Wars, repressive regimes and a trail of dead infants: you'd be forgiven for thinking that Dunmore doesn't offer much in the way of fun and games. But a large part of her brilliance as a writer is in the way she offsets harrowing issues with a deep, sensual attention to the material world."

This is equally true of her last novel, Birdcage Walk, which, while it takes place away from the turmoil of the Reign of Terror in France, still offsets her dark themes with beautiful multi-sensory writing.

For those who came to know Helen Dunmore through her novels, it may be a surprise to find that she was, as described in her obituary in The Guardian "first and last a poet." Her first poetry collection was published when she was thirty and her poem "The Malarkey," won the 2007 National Poetry Competition in Britain. She submitted it anonymously, long after her career was established and flourishing.



This bio was last updated on 08/14/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Helen Dunmore at BookBrowse
Inside the Wave jacket Birdcage Walk jacket Exposure jacket The Lie jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Helen Dunmore but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • David Benioff

    David Benioff

    David Benioff (born David Friedman but changed his name to take his mother's maiden name) was born and raised in New York City and attended Dartmouth College and the University of California at Irvine. His father, Stephen ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Betrayal

    Try:
    City of Thieves
    by David Benioff

  • Debra Dean

    Debra Dean

    Debra Dean attended Whitman College where she double-majored in English and Drama. She worked in New York and regional theatre for nearly a decade. She received her MFA degree from the University of Oregon and has written 3 ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Betrayal

    Try:
    The Madonnas of Leningrad
    by Debra Dean

We recommend 12 similar authors

View all 12 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Butterfly Yellow
    Butterfly Yellow
    by Thanhha Lai, Daniel Suarez
    Voted 2019 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    As readers, many of us hope ...
  • Book Jacket: Olive, Again
    Olive, Again
    by Elizabeth Strout
    Voted 2019 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    It's been a big year for literary ...
  • Book Jacket: Solitary
    Solitary
    by Albert Woodfox
    Voted 2019 Best Debut Author Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    According to statistics from ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming
    Becoming
    by Michelle Obama
    Voted 2019 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    BookBrowse hosted a Book Club ...

Book Club
Book Jacket
Evening in Paradise
by Lucia Berlin

"Berlin's new book is a marvel, filled with deeply touching stories about lives on the fringes."—NPR

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Butterfly Yellow

BUTTERFLY YELLOW

Winner of the BookBrowse Award for Best Young Adult Novel, and the overall highest rated book of the year!

Enter

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.