Amos Oz biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Amos Oz

Amos Oz

How to pronounce Amos Oz: "a-mos (a is pronounced as in apple)" oh-zz

Amos Oz Biography

Born Amos Klausner in Jerusalem in 1939, his parents were right-wing Zionists who had recently immigrated from Eastern Europe. His father, Yehuda Arieh Klausner, was a librarian and a scholar, and his mother, Fania Mussman, suffered from depression and committed suicide when Oz was only twelve. In an interview with The Huffington Post (2009), Oz describes that time in his life:

"I was very angry with her... I was very angry with my father, I was very angry with myself. I blamed every one of us for the calamity... There was not a drop of compassion in me. Nor did I miss her. I did not grieve at my mother's death. I was too hurt and angry for any other emotion to remain... [it was only] when I reached the age when I could be my parents' parents [that] I could look at them with a combination of compassion, humour, and curiosity."

Forsaking the political beliefs of his father, at only fourteen and a half he went to live on the Kibbutz Hulda in central Israel. Once there, he changed his last name to Oz (which means "strength" in Hebrew), and embraced the labor Zionist way of life. He recollects:

"When I left home at fourteen and a half, I decided to become everything [my father] was not, and not to be anything that he was. He was a right-wing intellectual; I decided to be a left-wing socialist. He was a city dweller; I decided to become a tractor driver. He was short; I decided to become very tall. It didn't work out, but I tried - I tried. So, I assumed the name 'Oz' because this courage and strength are what I needed most."

In compliance with Israel's mandatory military service requirement, in the late 1950s he served in the Israeli Defense Forces, and fought in the Six-Day War (1967) and the Yom Kippur War (1973) as a reserve soldier. In 1960, he married Nily Oz-Zuckerman and, in time, fathered three children with her. As Oz acquired more and more recognition for his writing he was released from much of his field-work at the kibbutz and was allotted more writing time; at its most generous, his weekly schedule consisted of four days of writing, two days teaching, and one day spent on dining room detail.

In 1978, Oz and other social and intellectual activists created a grass roots movement called Shalom Achshav - Peace Now - advocating a two-state solution to the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. Opposed to the building of settlements on the West Bank, Oz considers himself a Zionist, a political liberal, and an economic socialist.

His work is inspired by and deeply rooted in Israeli history - exploring its people, its political turmoil, and the majestic beauty of its biblical landscapes. Over the years, Amos Oz's writings have earned him numerous literary prizes, including the Goethe Prize, the Primo Levi Prize, Tel Aviv University's Dan David Prize, the Ovid Prize, and he has been considered as a candidate to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature.



This bio was last updated on 12/11/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Amos Oz at BookBrowse
Scenes from Village Life jacket Rhyming Life and Death jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Amos Oz but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Fredrik Backman

    Fredrik Backman

    Fredrik Backman is a Swedish author, blogger and columnist. He is the author of a work of nonfiction, Things My Son Needs to Know About Life, and a number of novels including A Man Called Ove, his first novel. Ove has sold ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Scenes from Village Life

    Try:
    Beartown
    by Fredrik Backman

  • David Bezmozgis

    David Bezmozgis

    David Bezmozgis is an award-winning writer and filmmaker. David's stories have appeared in numerous publications including The New Yorker, Harpers, Zoetrope All-Story, and The Walrus.

    His first book, Natasha and Other Stories... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Scenes from Village Life

    Try:
    The Betrayers
    by David Bezmozgis

We recommend 10 similar authors

View all 10 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Last Mrs. Parrish
    The Last Mrs. Parrish
    by Liv Constantine
    Amber has lived in poverty all her life, and she has had enough. Of course, wishing to have money ...
  • Book Jacket: Never Coming Back
    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee
    18 out of 23 reviewers gave Alison McGhee's Never Coming Back a rating of 4 or 5, with an average ...
  • Book Jacket: Solar Bones
    Solar Bones
    by Mike McCormack
    Written in a poetic, line-breaking style, Mike McCormack's Solar Bones reads with a breathless ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
If the Creek Don't Rise by Leah Weiss

A debut novel bursting with heart, honesty, and homegrown grit.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Strangers in Budapest
    by Jessica Keener

    Strong characters and a riveting plot combine in this psychological thriller set in Budapest.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

A truly good book teaches me better than to read it...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E Dog H I D

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.