Elle Newmark biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author

Elle Newmark

Elle Newmark

Elle Newmark Biography

Elle Newmark is the acclaimed author of The Book of Unholy Mischief and The Sandlewood Tree. Sadly, she died in 2011 after a long illness; before which she lived and worked in the hills north of San Diego.

Revealing Questions

Q. How would you describe your life in only 8 words?
A. one surprise after another after another after another

Q. What is your motto or maxim?
A. remember to breathe

Q.
How would you describe perfect happiness?
A. To wear the world like a loose garment.

Q.
What’s your greatest fear?
A. not writing well

Q.
If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you choose to be?
A. In a clean well-lighted place working on my next novel

Q.
With whom in history do you most identify?
A. Maybe Alfred Hitchcock. Like me, he was a late bloomer and a little odd

Q.
Which living person do you most admire?
A. The Dalai Lama because, well, you know.

Q.
What are your most overused words or phrases?
A. Seriously. I mean that's the word: Seriously. I'm not kidding. Seriously, I use seriously way too much. I'm serious.

Q.
What do you regret most?
A. Nothing. It was all necessary.

Q.
If you could acquire any talent, what would it be?
A. Dancing like leaves in the wind

Q.
What is your greatest achievement?
A. It's either writing a novel or raising children. Both incredibly difficult and equally rewarding

Q.
What’s your greatest flaw?
A. Impatience with stupid people

Q.
What’s your best quality?
A. Perseverance

Q.
If you could be any person or thing, who or what would it be?
A. A great writer

Q.
What trait is most noticeable about you?
A. I'm friendly? How would I know what other people notice.

Q.
Who is your favorite fictional hero?
A. Robinson Crusoe. Love a resourceful man.

Q.
Who is your favorite fictional villain?
A. Tom Ripley—a sociopath with touching vulnerabilities. He is so terrifyingly human.

Q.
If you could meet any historical character, who would it be and what would you say to him or her?
A. Buddha. I'd ask him how you find enlightenment WITHOUT leaving your children behind.

Q.
What is your biggest pet peeve?
A. pettiness

Q.
What is your favorite occupation, when you’re not writing?
A. reading

Q.
What’s your fantasy profession?
A. Ballerina. The swan neck, the stork legs, the breathtaking leaps. Oh, yeah.

Q.
What 3 personal qualities are most important to you?
A. Intelligence, Integrity and Humor

Q.
If you could eat only one thing for the rest of your days, what would it be?
A. How horrible! But if I had to choose, I guess really really good brick oven pizza. Can I at least get different toppings?

Q.
What are your 5 favorite songs?
A. American Pie, Il Partiro, The Boy in The Bubble, I Will Survive, Fly on The Wall



On Books and Writing

Q. Who are your favorite authors?
A. OMG, there are so many. Those that pop up immediately are Geraldine Brooks, John Steinbeck, Ian McEwan, Tom Wolfe, Peter Mathiessen, A.S. Byatt, Gregory Maguire, Richard Russo, Chris Cleave, Sebastian Faulks, Tolstoy, Isabelle Allende, Kazuo Ishaguro, David Mitchell, William Styron, David Sedaris, Vladimir Nabokov, Barbara Kingsolver...I could go on and on...

Q.
What are your 5 favorite books of all time?
A. Of Mice and Men, People of the Book, Sophie's Choice, The Remains of The Day, At Play in The Fields of The Lord

Q.
Is there a book you love to reread?
A. Sophie's Choice

Q.
Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?
A. Keep writing.

Q.
What comment do you hear most often from your readers?
A. My readers appear to enjoy my descriptions of places and food

Q.
How did you come to write Book of Unholy Mischief?
A. I love Venice, my father is an Italian chef, and I like mysteries with something to say. I like juicy books

Elle Newmark's website

This bio was last updated on 10/16/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Elle Newmark at BookBrowse
The Book of Unholy Mischief jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.