Felix J. Palma biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Felix J. Palma

Felix J. Palma

Felix J. Palma Biography

Félix J. Palma was born in Spain in 1968. His first volume of short stories, El Vigilante de la Salamandra (The Lizard's Keeper) was published in 1998. He has published four other volumes of stories: Métodos de Supervivencia (Methods of Survival,1999), Las Interioridades (Interiors, 2002), Los Arácnidos (The Arachnids, 2003), and El Menor Espectáculo del Mundo (The World's Smallest Show, 2010).

His novels are La Hormiga que Quiso Ser Astronauta (The Ant that Wanted to Become an Astronaut, 2001), Las Corrientes Oceánicas (The Ocean Currents, winner of the 2005 Luis Berenguer Award for Novel), and El Mapa del Tiempo (The Map of Time, winner of the Ateneo de Sevilla Award 2008). His work has been translated into more than 25 languages. He has also worked as a columnist, literary critic and has given creative writing workshops.

Palma has won more than one hundred awards. The Map of Time is his first book to be published in English.

Felix J. Palma's website

This bio was last updated on 10/26/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

In the brief interview below, Félix Palma answers questions on books and writing.

Who are your favorite authors?
Julio Cortázar, [Jorge Luis] Borges, Daniel Pennac, Paul Auster, Martin Amis.

What are your five favorite books of all time?
Lolita (Nabokov), The Anubis Gates (Tim Powers), The Time Traveler's Wife (Audrey Niffenegger), Interview with the Vampire (Anne Rice), One Hundred Years of Solitude (Gabriel García Márquez).

Is there a book you love to reread?
Cuentos by Julio Cortázar

Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?
That they must try to enjoy the process of writing, not just the fact of having a finished work.

What comment do you hear most often from your readers?
Give me back by money! Well… really, some people say to me: Thanks for making me dream.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Felix J. Palma at BookBrowse
The Map of the Sky jacket The Map of Time jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Felix J. Palma but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bad Cree
    Bad Cree
    by Jessica Johns
    Jessica Johns' debut novel Bad Cree was inspired by her desire to disprove the idea, suggested by an...
  • Book Jacket: The Terraformers
    The Terraformers
    by Annalee Newitz
    Sask-E is a planet that Verdance, a major terraforming company, has big plans for. Their business is...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Pirate
    The Light Pirate
    by Lily Brooks-Dalton
    The lynchpin of The Light Pirate by Lily Brooks-Dalton, a novel split into four parts, is the main ...
  • Book Jacket: The World Keeps Ending, and the World Goes On
    The World Keeps Ending, and the World Goes On
    by Franny Choi
    Calamity can cohabit with joy, and you and I have, on some plane, accepted that absurd reality. We ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Love of My Life
by Rosie Walsh
An up-all-night love story wrapped in a mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of Ghosted.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Exiles
    by Jane Harper

    A captivating new mystery from New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Jane Harper.

  • Book Jacket

    The Critic's Daughter
    by Priscilla Gilman

    An exquisitely rendered portrait of a unique father-daughter relationship and a moving memoir of family and identity.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win French Braid

French Braid
by Anne Tyler

From the beloved Pulitzer Prize–winning author, a joyful journey deep into one Baltimore family's foibles.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

It's A G T Me

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.