Mark Salter biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Author Image Not Available

Mark Salter

Mark Salter Biography

Mark Salter is a former Chief of Staff to Senator John McCain and a senior advisor in both the Senator's presidential campaigns. Prior to his promotion to chief of staff, he was for over three years the Senator's chief foreign policy advisor, and in that capacity was directly involved in legislation concerning many defense and foreign policy issues, including U.S. defense and foreign assistance programs in Central American countries; the authorization of the U.S military deployments to Bosnia; the normalization of U.S. relations with Vietnam, human rights policies for numerous countries; homeland security and the U.S. interventions in Iraq and Afghanistan.

From 1982 until 1986, he was a press officer in the United States Mission to the United Nations, following which he served until 1989 as press aide and speechwriter to former U.S. Ambassador to the U.N, Dr. Jeane Kirkpatrick.

He graduated from Georgetown University in 1981, and served an internship at the Bureau for Intelligence and Research in the Department of State.

Salter has written, in collaboration with McCain, the books Why Courage Matters, Faith Of My Fathers, Worth the Fighting For, Character is Destiny, and Hard Call: Great Decisions and the Extraordinary People Who Made Them.

He lives in the Washington, D.C. area with his wife and two daughters.



This bio was last updated on 09/30/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Mark Salter at BookBrowse
Faith of My Fathers jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Mark Salter but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • James Bradley

    James Bradley

    James Bradley is the fourth child of flagraiser John "Doc" Bradley. Raised in Wisconsin, Bradley studied at the University of Notre Dame, Sophia University in Tokyo, Japan and graduated with a degree in East Asian History ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Faith of My Fathers

    Try:
    Flags of Our Fathers
    by James Bradley

  • David Maraniss

    David Maraniss

    David Maraniss is an associate editor at The Washington Post and the author of several critically acclaimed and bestselling books, including When Pride Still Mattered: A Life of Vince Lombardi, First in His Class: A ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Faith of My Fathers

    Try:
    They Marched Into Sunlight
    by David Maraniss

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Histories
    American Histories
    by John E. Wideman
    In American Histories, a collection of 21 short stories, John Edgar Wideman draws America's present ...
  • Book Jacket: I Found My Tribe
    I Found My Tribe
    by Ruth Fitzmaurice
    Ruth O'Neill was only 28 when she married film director Simon Fitzmaurice in 2004. Changing her...
  • Book Jacket: The Art of the Wasted Day
    The Art of the Wasted Day
    by Patricia Hampl
    Patricia Hampl wants you to know that daydreaming is not a waste of a day. Nor is spending time ...
  • Book Jacket: Circe
    Circe
    by Madeline Miller
    Towards the end of Madeline Miller's novel Circe, the titular nymph is questioned by her son ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Music of the Ghosts by Vaddey Ratner

A love story for things lost and restored, a lyrical hymn to the power of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl Who Smiled Beads
    by Clemantine Wamariya

    A riveting story of dislocation, survival, and the power of stories to break or save us.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Leavers

The Leavers by Lisa Ko

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--now in paperback!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T E H N Clothes

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.