Hannah Pittard biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Hannah Pittard
Photo: Joe Wigdahl

Hannah Pittard

Hannah Pittard Biography

Hannah Pittard is the author, most recently, of the novel Visible Empire, which was an Amazon Editors' Pick for Summer Fiction, an IndieNext List Pick, a New York Times "New and Noteworthy" Selection, an O Magazine Book of Summer, and one of Southern Living's Best New Books of Summer.

Her previous novel, Listen to Me, was a New York Times Editors' Choice, a Washington Post Best Summer Thriller, an Entertainment Weekly Seriously Scary Summer Read, a Millions Most Anticipated Book, a Lit Hub Buzz Book, and a Refinery 29 Best Books So Far. 

Other novels include Reunion (named a Millions Most Anticipated Book, a Chicago Tribune Editor's Choice, a BuzzFeed Top-5 Great Book, a "Best New Book" by People Magazine, a Top-10 Read by Bustle Magazine and LibraryReads, a Must-Read by TimeOut Chicago, and a Hot New Novel by Good Housekeeping) and The Fates Will Find Their Way (named an O Magazine selection, an IndieNext List Pick, a Powell's Indiespendible Book Club Pick, and a "best of" by The Guardian, The Chicago Tribune, Details MagazineThe Kansas City Star, Chicago Magazine, Chicago Reader, and Hudson Booksellers).

She is winner of the 2006 Amanda Davis Highwire Fiction Award, a MacDowell Colony Fellow, and a consulting editor for Narrative Magazine. Her writing has appeared in the New York TimesAmerican Scholar, Oxford AmericanMcSweeney'sTriQuarterly, BOMB, and many other publications. She directs the MFA program in creative writing at the University of Kentucky.

From the author's website April 2019

Hannah Pittard's website

This bio was last updated on 04/19/2019. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Hannah Pittard discusses Visible Empire, an epic novel—based on true events—set in Atlanta in 1962.

You were born in Atlanta?

I was born and somewhat raised in Atlanta. I have a complicated relationship with the town. It's where I grew up. It's where I became an observer, a listener, an introspective and often introverted little human, but it's also where I was the focal point of a decade-long custody battle. It's difficult for me to divorce my experiences of that time—all those therapists and lawyers and judges—from the city itself. I went away to school when I was 13, and this also has affected my relationship with the place. When I go back, there are no high school friends waiting to catch up with me. Most of my favorite places to hang out are long gone.

Your mother, to whom you dedicate the novel, is the person who first told you the story of the disaster at Orly?

My mother was deeply impacted by the event. She didn't know anyone who'd died—though she ultimately came to know several of the children whose parents were lost—but after that crash, she began making audio recordings on tiny handheld tape recorders before traveling anywhere by plane. She would make a tape, box it up, heavily seal it (masking tape, etc.—they're insane, I've seen them, they still exist) and then leave a note on the ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Hannah Pittard at BookBrowse
Visible Empire jacket The Fates Will Find Their Way jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Hannah Pittard but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tom Rachman

    Tom Rachman

    Tom Rachman was born in 1974 in London but grew up in Vancouver. He studied cinema at the University of Toronto and completed a Master's degree in journalism at Columbia University in New York. From 1998, he worked as an ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Fates Will Find Their Way

    Try:
    The Imperfectionists
    by Tom Rachman

  • Marilynne Robinson

    Marilynne Robinson

    Marilynne Robinson is the recipient of a 2012 National Humanities Medal, awarded by President Barack Obama, for "her grace and intelligence in writing." She is the author ofGilead, winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Fates Will Find Their Way

    Try:
    Gilead
    by Marilynne Robinson

We recommend 3 similar authors

View all 3 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Lanny
    Lanny
    by Max Porter
    At once beautifully poignant and hauntingly grotesque, Max Porter's Lanny is like an unexpected ...
  • Book Jacket
    Call Me American
    by Abdi Nor Iftin
    As a boy growing up in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, Abdi Nor Iftin loved watching action ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Collection
    The Last Collection
    by Jeanne Mackin
    What it's about:
    The Last Collection by Jeanne Mackin follows the lives of two internationally ...
  • Book Jacket: Mrs. Everything
    Mrs. Everything
    by Jennifer Weiner
    Mrs. Everything spans six decades of an American family. We meet the Kaufman sisters Josette 'Jo' ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Beirut Hellfire Society
    by Rawi Hage

    A searing and visionary novel set in 1970s Beirut that asks what it means to live through war.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Guest Book
by Sarah Blake

"An American epic in the truest sense…"
Entertainment Weekly

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win In the Full Light of the Sun

New from Clare Clark!

"Evocative prose and excellent pacing make this fine historical a must-read for art history buffs."
- Publishers Weekly

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A A A Day K T D A

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.