Fernanda Eberstadt biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Fernanda Eberstadt

Fernanda Eberstadt

How to pronounce Fernanda Eberstadt: fer-NAHN-dah E-ber-stadt (first letter pronounced like the letter E)

Fernanda Eberstadt Biography

Fernanda Eberstadt was born in New York City on November 10, 1960. Her maternal grandfather was the poet Ogden Nash. She is the daughter of the photographer and psychotherapist Frederick Eberstadt, who lives in New York City. Her mother was Isabel Nash Eberstadt, a writer, fashion figure, and patroness of the arts, who published two novels, appeared in Andy Warhol's Screen Tests and in Robert Wilson's opera Edison.

As a teenager, Eberstadt worked backstage at Balanchine's New York City Ballet, at Andy Warhol's Factory, and for Diana Vreeland at the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum.

She was one of the first women to be accepted at Magdalen College, Oxford, from which she graduated with a Double First Class Honors degree in English Language and Literature in 1982.

In the 1980s, she worked as a journalist and critic in New York City, writing essays about Shakespeare, Dostoevsky, and the Hebrew Bible for magazines such as Commentary, The New Criterion, Vogue, Vanity Fair, and The New Yorker.

In 1985, her first novel, Low Tide, was published. This told the story of Jezebel, daughter of an English art dealer and a mad Louisiana heiress, and her fatal love affair with two young brothers.

Eberstadt's book-length article on Sicily, the novelist Lampedusa, and the restoration of old palaces in Palermo appeared in The New Yorker. Since the early 1990s, Eberstadt has lived mostly in Europe. She spent a year and a half in Istanbul, writing about the city for The New Yorker and The New York Times Magazine.

In 1993, she married the British writer Alastair Bruton.

In 1998, Eberstadt and her family moved to the French Mediterranean Pyrenees, where they lived for six years in a house on a vineyard outside Perpignan, while Bruton researched a book about the decline of Christianity in contemporary Western Europe.

Eberstadt's experiences in Perpignan's Gypsy community led to her first non-fiction book, Little Money Street, a portrait of her friendship with a family of French Gypsy musicians.

Since 2009, she has been living between France and London.

Her books have been translated into eight languages.



Bibiliography:

  • Low Tide (1985): The story of Jezebel, daughter of an English art-dealer and a mad Louisiana heiress, and her fatal love-affair with two young brothers. It takes place in New York, Oxford, and Mexico.
  • Isaac and His Devils (1991): Set in rural New Hampshire, the novel's hero is Isaac Hooker, a half-deaf, half-blind, hugely fat and ambitious boy-genius and his struggle to fulfill his parents' blighted dreams.
  • When the Sons of Heaven Meet the Daughters of the Earth (1997): A portrait of the New York art world in the eighties.
  • The Furies (2003): Set in 1990s Manhattan.
  • Rat (2010)

Fernanda Eberstadt's website

This bio was last updated on 07/18/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Fernanda Eberstadt at BookBrowse
Rat jacket The Furies jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Fernanda Eberstadt but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Sherman Alexie

    Sherman Alexie

    Sherman J. Alexie, Jr., was born in October 1966. A Spokane/Coeur d'Alene Indian, he grew up on the Spokane Indian Reservation in Wellpinit, Washington, about 50 miles northwest of Spokane. Approximately 1,100 Spokane Tribal ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Rat

    Try:
    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
    by Sherman Alexie

  • Kristin Cashore

    Kristin Cashore

    Kristin Cashore has written for The Horn Book Guide, The Looking Glass: An Online Children’s Literature Journal, and Children’s Literature in Education. She received a master’s degree in children’s ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Rat

    Try:
    Graceling
    by Kristin Cashore

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Confessions of an Innocent Man
    Confessions of an Innocent Man
    by David R. Dow
    It is circumstance that carries the wave that sweeps trendy Houston restaurateur Rafael Zhettah to ...
  • Book Jacket: Memories of the Future
    Memories of the Future
    by Siri Hustvedt
    I've never kept a journal, but my mother has written in hers for years, the annual volumes she's ...
  • Book Jacket: Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss
    Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss
    by Rajeev Balasubramanyam
    Rajeev Balasubramanyam encapsulates the theme of Professor Chandra Follows his Bliss in its first ...
  • Book Jacket: The Workshop and the World
    The Workshop and the World
    by Robert P. Crease
    The longest glacier in France, the Mer de Glace, is losing roughly 12 feet of ice height each year. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    When We Left Cuba
    by Chanel Cleeton

    An exhilarating historical novel from the author of Next Year in Havana, a Reese Witherspoon Book Club pick.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Affairs of the Falcóns
    by Melissa Rivero

    A beautiful, urgent novel about the lengths one woman is willing to go to build a new life.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Fly Girls
by Keith O'Brien

How five daring women defied all odds and made aviation history.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win Ecstasy

Win copies to share with friends or your book club!

Ecstasy reveals the true Alma Mahler: composer, author, daughter, mother, wife, lover, and muse.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A B Penny A T U

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.