Martha Grimes biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author

Martha Grimes

Martha Grimes

Martha Grimes Biography

The Man with a Load of Mischief was published in 1981, and from there Martha Grimes has published a book (sometimes two) every year for the past 25 years.

By her fourth and fifth books, Grimes received major review attention that not only lauded her ability as an American to write authentic British mysteries, but also to merge the conceits of the British form with the tone and atmosphere of the American. In 1987 The Five Bells & Bladebone was her "breakthrough" book, landing on the New York Times bestseller list. Her next two books, The Old Silent and The Old Contemptibles, were also New York Times bestsellers in both hardcover and paperback.

In 1992, with the publication of The End of the Pier, Grimes departed from her beloved cast of characters in the Richard Jury series to write a contemporary novel based in Western Maryland that combined a serial killer murder mystery with a poignant story of the problems in a mother and son relationship. The book established her as a writer of merit outside of mystery fiction. The second book in the series — Hotel Paradise — was published four years later.

Cold Flat Junction (2001) and Belle Ruin (2005) continues the adventures of twelve-year-old detective, Emma Graham.

In 1993, with the release of The Horse You Came in On, Grimes brought Richard Jury and Melrose Plant to America for the first time to the pub of that name in Baltimore, Maryland. It was such a success and fan reaction was so positive (the Mayor of Baltimore gave her the key to the city and declared August 12, 1993 as "Martha Grimes Day") she brought Richard Jury over again in Rainbow's End to investigate a mystery that leads him to Sante Fe, New Mexico.

In 1997, Grimes returned Richard Jury and Melrose Plant to England in The Case Has Altered. It was named a New York Times Notable Book of the Year.

The Stargazey, the fifteenth Richard Jury novel, published on November 5, 1998, became an instant bestseller.

The publication of Biting the Moon on April 15, 1999, marked a departure for Grimes, for it was the first book in a new series of books focusing on the prevention of animal abuse and featuring two teenage heroines. She donated two-thirds of her royalties to animal abuse organizations across the country.

With the publication of The Blue Last in September, 2001,. Grimes found herself back on the New York Times Bestseller list for the first time in a decade. She received more fan mail than for any other book by distraught fans worried about the "death" of Richard Jury. Her following four Jury mysteries, The Grave Maurice (2003), The Winds of Change (2004), The Old Wine Shades (2006), Dust (2007) and The Black Cat (2010) were also New York Times bestsellers.

Martha Grimes's website

This bio was last updated on 01/16/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Martha Grimes at BookBrowse
The Black Cat jacket Dakota jacket Dust jacket The Old Wine Shades jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Feast Your Eyes
    Feast Your Eyes
    by Myla Goldberg
    Myla Goldberg's latest novel, Feast Your Eyes, is ostensibly about the works of fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.