Emyl Jenkins biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Emyl Jenkins
Photo: Robert M. Sexton

Emyl Jenkins

Emyl Jenkins Biography

Emyl Jenkins was born in Charlotte, North Carolina, and moved to Raleigh when she was 18 months old. However, she spent most of her childhood in Danville, Virginia, just over the North Carolina state line. After college (Mary Washington) and graduate school (U.Va.), Jenkins taught at St. Anne's School in Charlottesville.

Jenkins ended up in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, where she worked part time as an appraiser and columnist for Whitehall Antiques.

Jenkins's first antiques book, Why You're Richer Than You Think, (later reissued as Emyl Jenkins' Appraisal Book) landed her a 3-day stint on Good Morning, America. Based on the stories Jenkins's clients told her about their treasures and their histories, Jenkins wrote two more books: Southern Christmas and Southern Hospitality. Meanwhile, Jenkins thought of the idea for an antiques "sleuth," and thus Sterling Glass was born. Jenkins began writing Stealing with Style.

Algonquin Books soon published her story, and thus began the Sterling Glass mysteries.

Jenkins currently lives with her husband Bob Sexton in Richmond, Virginia, where, when she is not writing or giving talks, she can be found either in an antiques shop or her garden.

Emyl Jenkins's website

This bio was last updated on 01/06/2014. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Emyl Jenkins at BookBrowse
The Big Steal jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Emyl Jenkins but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Lilian Jackson Braun

    Lilian Jackson Braun

    The history of Lilian Jackson Braun is perhaps as exciting and mysterious as her novels. Between 1966 and 1968, she published three novels to critical acclaim; The Cat Who Could Read Backwards, The Cat Who Ate ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Big Steal

    Try:
    The Cat Who Robbed A Bank
    by Lilian Jackson Braun

  • Kerry Greenwood

    Kerry Greenwood

    Kerry Greenwood was born in the Melbourne suburb of Footscray and after wandering far and wide, she returned to live there. She has a degree in English and Law from Melbourne University and was admitted to the legal ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Big Steal

    Try:
    Murder in Montparnasse
    by Kerry Greenwood

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Call Me American
    Call Me American
    by Abdi Nor Iftin
    As a boy growing up in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, Abdi Nor Iftin loved watching action ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Last Ballad
    by Wiley Cash
    A hundred years ago or so, farming land west of Charlotte, North Carolina was given over to giant ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Salt Houses by Hala Alyan

From a dazzling new literary voice, a debut novel about a Palestinian family caught between present and past.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Place for Us
    by Fatima Farheen Mirza

    A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If You See Me, Don't Say Hi

If You See Me, Don't Say Hi by Neel Patel

Patel's stories introduce a bold and timely new literary voice.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A P Saved I A P E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.