Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022 and Award Winners

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH
Photo: Marion Ettlinger

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH Biography

Dr. Ross Donaldson is the Director of the Emergency Medicine Global Health Program at the Harbor-UCLA Medical Center and holds appointments in the UCLA Schools of Medicine and Public Health. He is the critically acclaimed author of The Lassa Ward, a memoir about international aid work, as well as other medical texts and software.

Featured on CNN, BBC, NPR, and other media outlets, Dr. Donaldson is an internationally recognized expert on the global provision of emergency and disaster care. He is the Chief Editor of the Tarascon Medical Translation Handbook, an aid helping healthcare workers communicate with their foreign speaking patients in 17 different languages, and creator of WikEM: The Global Emergency Medicine Wiki, which is used by over 20,000 medical professionals worldwide and was ranked as one of the best hand-held emergency medicine applications in 2011.

Dr. Donaldson has worked around the globe, in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East, having received and managed over $15 million dollars of grants for emergency health care system strengthening worldwide. He has been the lead architect of national emergency care plans in several countries and has spearheaded the training of thousands of EMTs, nurses, and doctors, as well as the establishment of country-wide emergency pre-hospital and hospital-based systems of care. Among other honors, he received the Humanitarian Award from the California chapter of American College of Emergency Physicians in 2010.

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH's website

This bio was last updated on 11/27/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH at BookBrowse
The Lassa Ward jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Ishmael Beah

    Ishmael Beah

    Ishmael Beah was born in Sierra Leone in 1980. He moved to the United States in 1998 and finished his last two years of high school at the United Nations International School in New York. In 2004 he graduated from Oberlin ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Lassa Ward

    Try:
    A Long Way Gone
    by Ishmael Beah

  • Carol Bergman

    Carol Bergman

    Carol Bergman's short stories and literary nonficiton have been published in Willow Review, Onion Review, A Room of One's Own, Absinthe Literary Review, The Bridge, Potpourri, Epiphany and many other publications in the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Lassa Ward

    Try:
    Another Day In Paradise
    by Carol Bergman

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Voted 2022 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Geraldine Brooks creates a ...
  • Book Jacket: In Love
    In Love
    by Amy Bloom
    Voted 2022 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. In 2019, author Amy Bloom and her...
  • Book Jacket: Remarkably Bright Creatures
    Remarkably Bright Creatures
    by Shelby Van Pelt
    Voted 2022 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel, ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Scatterlings
    by Resoketswe Martha Manenzhe

    The debut novel of a gifted storyteller who has become a sensation in her native South Africa.

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Honor
by Thrity Umrigar
Set in India, a tender and evocative novel about love across a cultural divide, familial devotion and betrayal.
Who Said...

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.