Announcing Our Best Books of 2021

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH
Photo: Marion Ettlinger

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH Biography

Dr. Ross Donaldson is the Director of the Emergency Medicine Global Health Program at the Harbor-UCLA Medical Center and holds appointments in the UCLA Schools of Medicine and Public Health. He is the critically acclaimed author of The Lassa Ward, a memoir about international aid work, as well as other medical texts and software.

Featured on CNN, BBC, NPR, and other media outlets, Dr. Donaldson is an internationally recognized expert on the global provision of emergency and disaster care. He is the Chief Editor of the Tarascon Medical Translation Handbook, an aid helping healthcare workers communicate with their foreign speaking patients in 17 different languages, and creator of WikEM: The Global Emergency Medicine Wiki, which is used by over 20,000 medical professionals worldwide and was ranked as one of the best hand-held emergency medicine applications in 2011.

Dr. Donaldson has worked around the globe, in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East, having received and managed over $15 million dollars of grants for emergency health care system strengthening worldwide. He has been the lead architect of national emergency care plans in several countries and has spearheaded the training of thousands of EMTs, nurses, and doctors, as well as the establishment of country-wide emergency pre-hospital and hospital-based systems of care. Among other honors, he received the Humanitarian Award from the California chapter of American College of Emergency Physicians in 2010.

Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH's website

This bio was last updated on 11/27/2017. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH at BookBrowse
The Lassa Ward jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Dr. Ross Donaldson MD, MPH but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Ishmael Beah

    Ishmael Beah

    Ishmael Beah was born in Sierra Leone in 1980. He moved to the United States in 1998 and finished his last two years of high school at the United Nations International School in New York. In 2004 he graduated from Oberlin ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Lassa Ward

    Try:
    A Long Way Gone
    by Ishmael Beah

  • Carol Bergman

    Carol Bergman

    Carol Bergman's short stories and literary nonficiton have been published in Willow Review, Onion Review, A Room of One's Own, Absinthe Literary Review, The Bridge, Potpourri, Epiphany and many other publications in the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Lassa Ward

    Try:
    Another Day In Paradise
    by Carol Bergman

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    People from My Neighborhood
    by Hiromi Kawakami
    People from My Neighborhood is exactly what it sounds like — an unnamed narrator recounts a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Win Me Something
    by Kyle Lucia Wu
    Kyle Lucia Wu's Win Me Something opens with a young woman named Willa explaining that she did not ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Missing Trees
    The Island of Missing Trees
    by Elif Shafak
    The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak tells a tale of generational trauma, explores identity ...
  • Book Jacket: The Correspondents
    The Correspondents
    by Judith Mackrell
    In the introduction to The Correspondents, author Judith Mackrell points out that although there had...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Beasts of a Little Land
    by Juhea Kim

    An epic story of love, war, and redemption set against the backdrop of the Korean independence movement.

Who Said...

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Y Can't S T H, G O O T K

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.