Sam Savage biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sam Savage

Sam Savage

Sam Savage Biography

Sam Savage is a native of South Carolina who lives in Madison, Wisconsin. He received his bachelor and doctoral degree from Yale University where he taught briefly. He has also worked as a bicycle mechanic, carpenter, commercial fisherman, and letterpress printer.

After receiving his Ph.D. in the field of computer science from Yale University in 1973, Sam spent a year at General Motors Research Laboratory, and then joined the Management Science faculty of the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business. In 1985 Dr. Savage led the development of a software package that won PC Magazine's Technical Excellence Award in 1986. Sam has worked ever since to bring analytical tools to managers in an algebra free environment. In 1990, Sam moved to Stanford, where he teaches Management Science in the Engineering School. He has been a Visiting Professor at Northwestern University's Kellogg School and the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, and has recently been appointed to the position of Senior Associate of the Judge Business School at the University of Cambridge.

Publications include articles on The Flaw of Averages in the San Jose Mercury News, and Harvard Business Review, and Accounting for Uncertainty, in the Journal of Portfolio Management. Dr. Savage consults and lectures extensively to business and government agencies and has served as an expert witness. Harry Markowitz, Nobel Laureate in Economics, has called Dr. Savage's book and software, Decision Making with Insight, "a Must Read."

In 2006, Dr. Savage founded ProbabilityManagement.org with colleagues Stefan Scholtes of Cambridge and Daniel Zweidler of Shell, to promote a unified approach to enterprise wide risk modeling. Dr. Savage is also founder and president of AnalyCorp Inc., a firm that develops executive education programs and software for improving business analysis.

Dr. Savage's book The Flaw of Averages was published by John Wiley & Sons in June of 2009.



This bio was last updated on 08/14/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sam Savage at BookBrowse
The Cry of the Sloth jacket Firmin jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sam Savage but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Sonny Brewer

    Sonny Brewer

    Sonny Brewer is the author of the novels, The Poet of Tolstoy Park, A Sound Like Thunder, Cormac - The Tale of a Dog Gone Missing, and The Widow and the Tree. Brewer also edited the anthology series Stories from the Blue Moon... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Firmin

    Try:
    The Poet of Tolstoy Park
    by Sonny Brewer

  • Robert Hellenga

    Robert Hellenga

    Hellenga grew up in Three Oaks, Michigan, a typical Midwestern small town, but spent summers in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where his father, a commission merchant with a seasonal business, handled produce that was shipped there ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Firmin

    Try:
    Philosophy Made Simple
    by Robert Hellenga

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Call Me American
    Call Me American
    by Abdi Nor Iftin
    As a boy growing up in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, Abdi Nor Iftin loved watching action ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Last Ballad
    by Wiley Cash
    A hundred years ago or so, farming land west of Charlotte, North Carolina was given over to giant ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Salt Houses by Hala Alyan

From a dazzling new literary voice, a debut novel about a Palestinian family caught between present and past.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Place for Us
    by Fatima Farheen Mirza

    A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If You See Me, Don't Say Hi

If You See Me, Don't Say Hi by Neel Patel

Patel's stories introduce a bold and timely new literary voice.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A P Saved I A P E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.