Moying Li biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Moying Li

Moying Li

Moying Li Biography

Moying Li grew up in Beijing, China during the tumultuous Cultural Revolution (1966-1976).  During that period, Moying was primarily self-taught, following the reading lists her father, who had been a prominent screenwriter, sent to her from a "hard labor camp."  In 1977, when the China National Entrance Examination system was finally reinstated for the first time in ten years, Moying was among the first post-Cultural Revolution students to be accepted by Beijing Foreign Studies University. Two years later, she was selected to graduate ahead of schedule to join the faculty of her school.
 
In 1980, thanks to a generous scholarship and a plane ticket from Swarthmore College, Moying left Beijing where her family still lives, and traveled to the United States to pursue graduate studies. For the next ten years she immersed herself in what she had always craved, the unrestricted pursuit of knowledge.
 
One of the first private scholarship students from China since 1949 to attend a U.S. college or university, Moying earned an M.A. from Swarthmore College, a degree the school has only conferred every 15-20 years to the most qualified students. She then went on to receive an M.B.A and Ph.D. from Boston University.
 
Moying started publishing short stories, essays, and articles when she was still a college student in China. Her writings appeared in such publications as English Studies, English Literature, and Chinese Author. Her first book, Beacon Hill- Life and Times of a Neighborhood, (Northeastern University Press) won first prize, the prestigious "Julia Ward Howe Award," given by the Boston Author’s Club, as the best book published in 2003 by a New England author.
 
Moying was the National Co-Anchor of the television show "English as Second Language" for China Central Television (CCTV), the largest television network in China. She also served as an Assistant Producer for programs with TV1 of France, as well as the Christian Science Monitor Television’s coverage of the Tiananmen Square Incident in 1989.
 
Since 1994, Moying has been a Senor Vice President and Senior Equity Analyst with Marcus Capital Management, Inc., a Boston-based investment management firm.  Prior to this position, she was Assistant Director of the International Department of the Massachusetts Port Authority.  Moying began her professional career with the United Nations Development Programme in Beijing.

Moying also dedicates her time to several charities and non-profit organizations. She is President of the Boston-Hangzhou Sister City Association, and Treasurer and a Board Member of the Boston Author’s Club. She is in governance position with the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, the American Club in Beijing, and is a member of the Pen American Club. She is China Advisor to the President of Swarthmore College, as well as being an active volunteer and China advisor to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital’s China program. She is also on the Allocation Sub-Committee of the United Way of Massachusetts Bay. In addition, Moying and her husband are leading collectors of Chinese Imperial dragon robes. Works from their collection have been exhibited in Europe, North America and Asia. They were co-sponsors and exhibitors for the show, Draped in Dragons, at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.
 
Moying has lectured and written widely on business and social issues in China. She has lectured at the Sloan School of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Harvard University, the School of Management at Boston University, the Carroll School at Boston College, the College of Business Administration at Northeastern University, the Boston Bar Association, the Massachusetts Export School, and the Beijing International society. She has been interviewed by, among others, the British Broadcasting Corporation, Business Week, The Boston Globe, Harvard Magazine, and The Wall Street Journal on a variety of investment topics and her award-winning book on Beacon Hill.

About This Biography
This biography was last updated on 08/10/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Author Statement from Moying Li, Author of Snow Falling In Spring: Coming of Age in China During the Cultural Revolution

I feel very fortunate that my memoir, Snow Falling In Spring will be published just a few months before the 2008 Olympic Games, which will be held in the city of my birth—Beijing.

As Pierre de Coubertin, the modern father of the Olympic Movement, once said, "The foundation of real human morality lies in mutual respect—and to respect one another it is necessary to know one another." The 2008 Beijing Olympics, and the time leading up to it, offers an unprecedented chance for China to interact and communicate with the rest of the world.

Overall, from the increasing media focus to the fast-growing commercial and cultural interactions, it is evident that the world has fixed its eye on China for quite some time. This attention will only intensify with the Summer Olympics. It’s estimated that 4.5 million people from around the world will visit Beijing in 2008, in addition to billions of others who will tune in via satellite television.

I believe that, in true Olympic spirit, a better understanding of human commonality and shared vision will emerge from this ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Moying Li at BookBrowse
Snow Falling in Spring jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Moying Li but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

We recommend 14 similar authors

View all 14 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.