Denis Johnson biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Denis Johnson

Denis Johnson

Denis Johnson Biography

Poet, playwright and author Denis Johnson was born in Munich, West Germany in 1949 and was raised in Tokyo, Manila and Washington. He holds a masters' degree from the University of Iowa and has received many awards including a Lannan Fellowship in Fiction in (1993), a Whiting Writer's Award (1986) and the Aga Khan Prize for Fiction from the Paris Review for Train Dreams. He is best known for his collection of short stories, Jesus' Son.

His first published writing was a collection of poetry, The Man Among The Seals, published in 1969 when he was 20 years old and enrolled at the University of Iowa, where he was mentored by Raymond Carver. At 21 he was first admitted to a psychiatry ward for alcohol addiction, having started a lengthy love affair with substance abuse at the age of 14 while living in the Philippines, where his father, a State Department employee, was stationed. This was followed by seven or eight years of on and off drug abuse and, often, homelessness. While struggling to get sober in 1978 Johnson says he had "a strong experience of the presence of God" in Phoenix, which he describes as "no talking" and "kind of blue". A number of passages in Jesus' Son appear to be based on this experience. The same year he started work on a novel that he had begun in college; Angels was published in 1983 and won the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction. Between 1982 and 1986 he produced two books of poetry and three novels.

In 1988 he was in the Philippines, researching an article for Esquire. However, he came down with malaria and, on his return, felt too wrecked to finish the piece; added to which, his second wife was divorcing him so he had no place to stay. Recovering in a friend's house near Mendocino he sent his agent a batch of stark, semi-autobiographical sketches that he'd written during his days as an addict, not expecting them to be published. However, Johnson's former editor at Knopf, Robert Gottlieb, had just taken over as editor of The New Yorker and, in Johnson's words, "was ready to make some changes in the magazine, so he thought it'd be a laugh to publish some of these vulgar stories." The New Yorker bought four of the stories and The Paris Review and Esquire bought a few others. Still, Johnson didn't think much of the stories but, owing money to the IRS, he sent a collection to his editor, Jonathan Galassi, at Farrar, Straus & Giroux, who published the eleven stark stories as Jesus' Son, after a line from Heroin by Lou Reed.

Meanwhile, despite the unfinished Esquire article, Johnson developed a career in adventure journalism and spent the best part of the next 10 years exploring some of the most violent places on earth, including Liberia during one of its civil wars and Iraq during Desert Storm.

Much of his work carries a religious subtext. As Johnson says, "What I write about is really the dilemma of living in a fallen world, and asking: Why is it like this if there's supposed to be a God?"

From 2006-2007 he held the Mitte Chair at Texas State University in San Marcos. He was also the resident playwright of Intersection for the Arts, based in San Francisco. He died in May 2017 of liver cancer, aged 67.



Partial Bibliography

Novels
Angels (1983)
Fiskadoro (1985)
Stars at Noon (1986)
Resuscitation of a Hanged Man (1991)
Already Dead: A California Gothic (1998)
The Name of the World (2000)
Tree of Smoke (2007)
Nobody Move (2009)
The Laughing Monsters (2014)


Collections
The Incognito Lounge: And Other Poems (1982)
The Veil (poems, 1987)
Jesus' Son (short stories, 1992)
The Throne of the Third Heaven of the Nation's New Millennium General Assembly: Poems: Collected And New (1995) Shoppers: Two Plays By Denis Johnson (2002)

Plays
Hellhound on my Trail
Shoppers Carried by Escalators into the Flames
Soul of a Whore
Psychos Never Dream
Purvis
Des Moines
Everything Has Been Arranged
Soul of a Whore and Purvis: Two Plays in Verse



This bio was last updated on 05/27/2017. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Denis Johnson at BookBrowse
The Largesse of the Sea Maiden jacket The Laughing Monsters jacket Train Dreams jacket Nobody Move jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Denis Johnson but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Tom Bissell

    Tom Bissell

    Tom Bissell is the author of Chasing the Sea, God Lives in St. Petersburg, The Father of All Things, Why Video Games Matter, Magic Hours: Essays On Creators and Creation (2012) and Apostle: Travels Among the Tombs of the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Tree of Smoke

    Try:
    The Father of All Things
    by Tom Bissell

  • Charles Cumming

    Charles Cumming

    Charles Cumming was born in Scotland in 1971. He was educated at Ludgrove School (1979-1984), Eton College (1985-1989) and the University of Edinburgh (1990-1994), where he graduated with 1st Class Honours in English ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Laughing Monsters

    Try:
    A Colder War
    by Charles Cumming

We recommend 21 similar authors

View all 21 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.