Announcing Our Best Books of 2021

Marianne Wiggins biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Marianne Wiggins
Photo: Lara Porzak

Marianne Wiggins

Marianne Wiggins Biography

Marianne Wiggins was born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania in 1947 of Greek and Scottish ancestry.  Her father, a farmer, preached in a conservative Christian church founded by her grandfather.   She married at 17 and shortly after gave birth to a daughter, Lara, who she brought up on Martha's Vineyard (Lara is now a professional photographer in Los Angeles).  Wiggins's first book was published in 1975 but it wasn't until 1984 with the publication of Separate Checks that she was able to support herself with her writing.

Wiggins lived in London for 16 years and also briefly in Paris, Brussels and Rome.  She married Salman Rushdie in January 1988; a little over a year later, on Valentine's Day 1989, the couple learned that Ayatollah Khomeini had issued a fatwa against Rushdie for perceived blasphemies in The Satanic Verses (1988).  She lived in 56 different safe houses under the protection of the British government but, after six months, decided to take a flat (apartment) under an assumed name. In 1993, she and Rushdie divorced.

Since then, she has chased tornadoes in Nevada, explored the Amazon Basin and in general led "a really interesting life".  She currently lives in Los Angeles where she is a Professor of English at the University of Southern California. Her most recent book, The Shadow Catcher, is the first of a planned series of novels set in California.

In 1989 she won a Whiting Award (awarded to ten authors annually for exceptional talent and promise). She has also won an NEA grant and the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize, and she was a National Book Award finalist in fiction for Evidence of Things Unseen.


Bibliography

Babe (1975)
Went South (1980)
Separate Checks (1984)
Herself in Love (1987)
John Dollar (1989)
Bet They'll Miss Us When We're Gone
(collection, 1991)
Eveless Eden
(1995)
Almost Heaven (1998)
Evidence of Things Unseen (2003)
The Shadow Catcher (2007)



This bio was last updated on 06/26/2016. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Marianne Wiggins at BookBrowse
The Shadow Catcher jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Marianne Wiggins but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Atwood was born in 1939 in Ottawa, and grew up in northern Ontario and Quebec, and in Toronto. She received her undergraduate degree from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and her master's degree ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow Catcher

    Try:
    The Blind Assassin
    by Margaret Atwood

  • Timothy Egan

    Timothy Egan

    Timothy Egan is a national enterprise reporter for The New York Times and has a weekly column, "Outposts." He is the author of seven books and the recipient of several awards, including the Pulitzer Prize. The Worst Hard Time... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Shadow Catcher

    Try:
    Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher
    by Timothy Egan

We recommend 11 similar authors

View all 11 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    People from My Neighborhood
    by Hiromi Kawakami
    People from My Neighborhood is exactly what it sounds like — an unnamed narrator recounts a ...
  • Book Jacket
    Win Me Something
    by Kyle Lucia Wu
    Kyle Lucia Wu's Win Me Something opens with a young woman named Willa explaining that she did not ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Missing Trees
    The Island of Missing Trees
    by Elif Shafak
    The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak tells a tale of generational trauma, explores identity ...
  • Book Jacket: The Correspondents
    The Correspondents
    by Judith Mackrell
    In the introduction to The Correspondents, author Judith Mackrell points out that although there had...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    True Crime Story
    by Joseph Knox

    The #1 international bestselling novel. What happens to all the girls who go missing?

Who Said...

He who opens a door, closes a prison

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Y Can't S T H, G O O T K

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.