Janine Latus biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Janine Latus

Janine Latus

Janine Latus Biography

Janine Latus is a freelance writer, radio commentator, and regular speaker on domestic abuse issues. She has busked on the streets of Chicago to write about what it’s like to sing for your supper. She has galloped the beaches of the Dominican Republic, eaten her way through Kansas City and danced herself into a frenzy, all to gather the kind of you-are-there details that make a story sing. She has coaxed women to tell her how much they weigh and why, and couples to admit how much they earn, how they spend their money and what they’d like to do differently. She has cried along with women as they described surviving mastectomies, and wept with their family members when they did not.

Her work has appeared in O magazine, More, Woman’s Day, Family Circle, Parents, All You, American Baby and the in-flight magazines for US Air, American Airlines, Continental and TWA. She has written for WomensWallStreet.com and MSN Money. Her commentaries have aired on Public Radio International’s Marketplace, and she routinely speaks at conferences, workshops and press events on things as far apart as domestic violence and the joy of selecting the perfect verb. She has taught at the Missouri School of Journalism and at East Carolina University, and at writing workshops in Missouri, University of North Carolina and Wisconsin.  She is on the board of directors of the American Society of Journalists and Authors and lives in Virginia. If I Am Missing or Dead is her first book.

Janine Latus's website

This bio was last updated on 08/10/2016. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Interview

Janine Latus talks about her book, If I Am Missing or Dead, in which she recounts both her own and her sister Amy's dealings with abusive men, that led to the death of her sister. She hopes to trigger a national discussion about domestic violence, to bring it out of the shadows in the way that Randy Shilts's And the Band Played On triggered a national discussion about AIDS.

In the book, Amy's story is interwoven with your own. Why did you choose to structure the book this way?

I thought of it as a double helix, our lives winding around each other's, connecting at family gatherings and shared crises and through the tiny threads of phone calls, letters, and cards. Our lives were so different, yet we each sought men who would give us that fiction, that shudder of excitement. By telling both of our stories I wanted to convey the spectrum of emotional and physical abuse. It's always emotional, understand. The physical is a form of control through fear, and fear is an emotion. As I point out in the book, physical abuse is not necessarily worse that emotional abuse. It's just a different shape.


Toward the end of the book, someone asks you if Amy's death has made you reconsider your divorce. You respond that it has made you "even more sure. Life's too short to be afraid." How has Amy's death changed your understanding of your own experiences?

I don't understand this question well enough to give you a good answer. If you mean has Amy's death made me even more determined to speak out for abused women, yes. If you means has Amy's death made me more aware of the...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Janine Latus at BookBrowse
If I Am Missing or Dead jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Janine Latus but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Kurt Brown (editor)

    Kurt Brown (editor)

    Kurt Brown is the author of four books of poetry and editor of numerous anthologies. He used to teach at Sarah Lawrence College and lived in New York City. He died in 2013. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    If I Am Missing or Dead

    Try:
    Killer Verse
    by Kurt Brown (editor)

  • Jennifer Lauck

    Jennifer Lauck

    Jennifer Lauck is an award winning journalist and the author of the New York Times Bestseller Blackbird. Lauck followed Blackbird with the sequel Still Waters and a collection of short stories titled Show Me the Way. She also... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    If I Am Missing or Dead

    Try:
    Blackbird
    by Jennifer Lauck

We recommend 9 similar authors

View all 9 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Conviction
    Conviction
    by Denise Mina
    Scottish author Denise Mina's latest novel, Conviction, is a fast-paced thriller narrated by Anna, a...
  • Book Jacket
    Dread Nation
    by Justina Ireland
    The war between the states is over and, instead, a very different battle is being waged for the ...
  • Book Jacket: Costalegre
    Costalegre
    by Courtney Maum
    The year is 1937 and Hitler is gaining stronger sway over Europe. Chief among the Führer's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Lands of Lost Borders
    by Kate Harris
    Powered by imagination, grit, a bicycle, and the companionship of her best friend Mel, Kate Harris ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ellie and the Harpmaker
    by Hazel Prior

    A rich, heartwarming and charming debut novel about finding love in unexpected places.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Never Have I Ever
    by Joshilyn Jackson

    A diabolically entertaining tale of betrayal, deception, temptation, and love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
America for Beginners
by Leah Franqui

A poignant debut that explores unlikely friendships forged in unusual circumstances.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Book Club Giveaway!
Win Crudo

Crudo by Olivia Laing

A brilliant, funny, and emphatically raw novel of love on the brink of the apocalypse.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T C C H T Roost

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.